Weir Starts And Wilson On Bench For Scotland

Duncan Weir will make his first start for Scotland in Saturday's RBS 6 Nations Championship match against Wales at Murrayfield, while Ryan Wilson has been included on the bench for the first time.

There are six Warriors in the starting line-up and six included amongst the replacements.

Weir, whose three previous caps have been won from the bench, replaces Ruaridh Jackson in the pivotal position.

Ryan Wilson has led his club on three occasions this season and was captain and man of the match in Scotland A's victory over England Saxons last month. He is named instead of David Denton who sustained a knee injury when playing for Edinburgh Rugby against Scarlets in the RaboDirect PRO12 at the weekend.

The other change to the initial line-up from the team that defeated Ireland last month sees the 2009 British and Irish Lion, Euan Murray, return to the tighthead berth with Geoff Cross moving to the bench.

Scotland interim head coach Scott Johnson said: 'selection is tough just now but that's a good thing as we increase competition for places.

'duncan did well when he came on against Ireland and he got some decent game time for Glasgow at the weekend. He's a talent with a really good work ethic and a thirst to improve, which I like a lot.

"Ruaridh remains a key part of our squad but he knows with Tom Heathcote proving a match-winner for Bath and kicking goals from here, there and everywhere, that he needs to up his game too.

"Geoff (Cross) was a standout against Ireland and it's up to Euan, who fronted up big time against Italy, to raise the bar again.

"Wales will be going for their fifth successive away victory in the championship and that would be a record for them but our focus is on ensuring we win the contact zone, continue to improve and make it three wins on the bounce."


Scotland team to play Wales in the RBS 6 Nations Championship at Murrayfield on Saturday 9 March (kick-off 2.30pm)

15 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) 13 caps, 3 tries, 15 points

14 Sean Maitland (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps, 1 try, 5 points

13 Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors) 74 caps, 9 tries, 45 points

12 Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby) 10 caps, 1 try, 5 points

11 Tim Visser (Edinburgh Rugby) 8 caps, 5 tries, 25 points

10 Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps, 1 conversion, 2 points

9 Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby) vice-captain, 16 caps, 2 tries, 16 conversions and 30 penalties, 132 points

1 Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors) vice-captain, 8 caps

2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby) 66 caps, 2 tries, 10 points

3 Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors) 51 caps, 2 tries, 10 points

4 Richie Gray (Sale Sharks) 30 caps, 1 try, 5 points

5 Jim Hamilton (Gloucester) 44 caps, 1 try, 5 points

6 Robert Harley (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps, 1 try, 5 points

7 Kelly Brown (Saracens) captain, 55 caps, 4 tries, 20 points

8 Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier) 19 caps, 3 tries, 15 points



16 Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors) 41 caps, 1 try, 5 points

17 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors) 17 caps

18 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh Rugby) 19 caps, 1 try, 5points

19 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors) 50 caps, 1 try, 5 points

20 Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped

21 Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps, 1 try, 5 points

22 Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors) 18 caps, 2 conversions, 2 penalties, 2 drop-goals, 16 points

23 Max Evans (Castres) 34 caps, 3 tries, 15 points