Edp Trio Get Club International Call

EDP prop Alex AllanEdinburgh Rugby EDP trio Alex Allan [pictured], Robin Hislop and Hamish Watson will start Scotland Club XV's match against their Irish counterparts this Friday at Millbrae, Ayr (kick-off 7.30pm) - free entry!

Some 17 players in the squad are uncapped at Scotland Club XV level with 11 in the starting line-up. These are Currie full-back Jamie Forbes; Ayr winger Craig Gossman; Heriot's centre Max Learmonth; Gala winger Craig Robertson and scrum-half George Graham (pictured); Boroughmuir prop Robin Hislop; Edinburgh Accies prop Alex Allan and flanker Hamish Watson; Aberdeen Grammar lock Murray Douglas; Melrose forward Ross Miller and back-row Andrew Nagle.

Scotland Club XV head coach, Phil Leck - father of Edinburgh Rugby scrum-half, Chris - said: "We have gone for a mix of experience and youth in this side and put together a group of players we know are capable of executing our game plan and winning.

"We want to play a quick, expansive game and the players have worked hard and bought into the tactics we have put in place. However, the challenge with playing at this level is you know very little about your opponents, so you have to adapt to what they bring to the match.

"A few players have unfortunately had to pull out due to injury, notably Ayr's Nick Cox and Scott Sutherland, but I believe we have put the best side together that can beat Ireland. We are going out to win, end of story."

Scotland Club XV team to play Ireland on Friday 8 March at Millbrae, Ayr (kick-off 7.30pm, admission free)
15 Jamie Forbes (Currie) *; 14 Craig Gossman (Ayr) *, 13 Max Learmonth (Heriot's) *, 12 Dean Kelbrick (Ayr), 11 Craig Robertson (Gala) *; 10 Lee Millar (Gala), 9 George Graham (Gala) *; 1 Robin Hislop (Boroughmuir) *, 2 Fraser Brown (Heriot's), 3 Alex Allan (Edinburgh Accies) *, 4 Murray Douglas (Aberdeen Grammar) *, 5 Ross Miller (Melrose) *, 6 Mark Cairns CAPTAIN (Currie), 7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Accies) *, 8 Andrew Nagle (Melrose) *
Substitutes: 16 Kevin Bryce (Heriot's) *, 17 Gary Holborn (Melrose) *, 18 Luke Pettie (Gala) *, 19 Jason Hill (Heriot's) *, 20 Gary Graham (Gala) *, 21 Peter Jericevich (Ayr) *, 22 Stuart Edwards (Stirling County) *, 23 Cameron Ferguson (Heriot's)

* Uncapped at Scotland Club XV level