Hong Kong classic for Scotland 7s

After reaching the Cup quarter-finals in the last two rounds of the HSBC Sevens World Series, in Wellington and Las Vegas, Scotland 7s go into tomorrow’s opening match of the Hong Kong 7s against Portugal (9.28am, UK time), relishing the opportunity to build on their recent form.

This week preparations have gone very well, firstly having travelled with an 18-man squad they have been able to increase the competitiveness within the squad and a very good hit-out with Canada has further boosted their confidence.

Scotland 7s stalwart, Mark Robertson, said: “We had 18 players training in our first three sessions in Hong Kong and that meant we could do full contact and game scenarios, which was valuable.

“We also had a really good hit-out with Canada, one of the best we’ve had this season, which shows how well our preparations have gone.

“We open against Portugal tomorrow and we know they will be a tough opponent. However, if we impose our own game they won’t be able to cope with us and we’ll win.

“We’re excited about Hong Kong because after the last two rounds of the World Series we have realised we can beat any team on this circuit, but we also know that requires us being at our best and in the right mindset at all times, because this tournament is of a standard that anybody can beat anybody.

“We can’t wait to get into it now.”

Scotland 7s will open their Hong Kong 7s campaign against Portugal at 9.28am (UK time) on Friday 22 March. They will then play the remainder of their group matches on Saturday 23 March at 2.28am (v Samoa, UK time) and 11.16am (v England, UK time) before competing in the trophy stages on the last day of competition. 

The team are currently 12th in the HSBC Sevens World Series standings, a position they must improve or maintain in the next three tournaments, to avoid dropping into a relegation competition in London. 

Scotland 7s squad to compete in the sixth leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series (Friday 22 – Sunday 24 March): Andrew Turnbull (Scotland 7s), Chris Dean (Scotland 7s EDP), Colin Gregor (Scotland 7s), Colin Shaw (Scotland 7s), *Darren Gillespie (Kelso), James Fleming (Scotland 7s), James Johnstone (Glasgow Warriors), Mark Robertson (Scotland 7s), Michael Fedo (Scotland 7s), Michael Maltman (Scotland 7s), Russell Weir (Scotland 7s) and Struan Dewar (Scotland 7s).