Jed and Bell Baxter share the honours

Tuesday, 26 March 2013

Jedburgh Grammar School 15 Bell Baxter High School 15

A penalty with the last kick of the game by Callum Harris enabled Bell Baxter HS to complete a fine comeback and share the Brewin Dolphin under-16 Plate with Jedburgh GS at Murrayfield tonight.

Harris’s strike for offside from around 35 metres tied the scores at 15-all, the Fifers having recovered from a 5-15 deficit with around ten minutes of play remaining.



Their finale was engineered by livewire diminutive full-back Kieran Bremner who wove his way through the Jed defence for a stunning individual try, which Harris had converted.

Bremner had hinted from the early stages that, given space, he would seek to attack the Jed defence.

Jed, well-organised, had a” try” by Robbie Yourston ruled out for a forward pass in the opening exchanges and from Bremner’s first flourish, Bell Baxter surged over for the first points of the night – a try by tight-head prop Marc Duncan.

Kieran Slingsby in the Jed back-row had to make a try-saving tackle on his own line as Bell Baxter continued to make the better impression and when Jed had stand-off Elliot Stewart yellow-carded for obstruction, it looked as if the Fifers could benefit.

Instead, with No 8 Grant Paxton leading the forward effort, Jed started to gain the ascendancy. Yourston notched a penalty and then scrum-half Gary Munro showed all the qualities expected of the No 9 royal blue jersey to snipe in for the Borderers’ first ry. Yourston converted to give Jed a 10-5 lead at the interval.

Into the second-half and Jed flanker John Feeney extended their lead with a try and when loose-head prop Gary Clarkson was held up over the line from another rumbustious break from man of the match Munro, it was hard to see a way back for Bell Baxter.

Yet Bremner conjured the opening somehow and the thrilling finish ensued.

Jedburgh GS: Robbie Douglas; Joe Amos, Rory Smith, Robbie Yourston, Calum Young; Elliot Stewart, Gary Munro; Gary Clarkson, Oliver Ryan captain, Arron Richardson, Daniel Wardrop, Nick Arnold, Kieran Slingsby, John Feeney, Grant Paxton. Subs: Finlay Scott, Nathan Slingsby, Peter Bowie, Ryan Redpath, Phil Kelly, Steven Smith and Sean Hogg.

Bell Baxter HS: Kieran Bremner; Callum Fox, Euan Muir, Callum Harris, Kieran Brough; Liam San Roman, Euan Harris; Ross Stockton, Murdo Sinclair captain, Marc Duncan, Stuart Dawson, Ryan Batehup, Cameron Eggelstone, Gavin Murray and Callum Stuart. Subs: Greg Armit, Steven Dalrymple, Jack Tuft, Ewan Jenks, Cameron Lonie, Jack Richardson and Matthew McDougall.

Referee: Sandy Jackson (Edinburgh University)