Green machine triumphs

Grangemouth Stags 14 Oban Lorne 19

Oban Lorne fought back from an early deficit to lift the RBS Bowl in front of their exuberant supporters at Murrayfield this afternoon.The Green Machine, as robust as a Calmac ferry, scored three tries, all from their pack, which summed up where the match was won.

As is so often the case in the RBS Bowl there were two vocal sets of fans welcoming their heroes to the Murrayfield turf.

It was an experienced fellow who opened the scoring for Grangemouth, prop David Jamieson, once of West of Scotland and Ayr, who bulldozed in for a try, which Craig Sangster, another to operate up the ladder at Stirling County, converted.

Oban responded quickly and when Grangemouth knocked on in their own 22, a decent advantage from referee Duncan McClement, was exploited with a try by Struan Smith. Craig Wright’s conversion tied the scores.

Another rumble from Jamieson, this time on the Oban 10-metre line, set up a score for Sangster which the stand-off converted.

Both teams continued to go at it full pelt and from a tap penalty inside the Grangemouth 22, Andrew MacDougall crashed over for Oban’s second try. Wright levelled with the conversion.

Pick and goes

Close to half-time and Oban took the lead for the first time. Oban cranked through the gears with a series of pick and goes and after stand-off Ruaridh Aitken was held up under the posts, the recycled possession was seized  by Oban lock Jamie McMillan who dotted down.

Half time: Grangemouth Stags 14 Oban Lorne 19

James Denny, Grangemouth’s winger, was denied at the right flag when width was given to one attack but, generally, it was more route one that was being favoured by both teams.

Wright was just short with a penalty as Oban’s scrum waxed strong but roared on by their support they continued to dominate territory.

Wright miscued narrowly from the other side with another penalty attempt but despite a late rally from Grangemouth it was to prove Oban’s day.

The RBS Man of the Match, as chosen by pro players James Eddie and Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) and Roddy Grant and Lewis Niven (Edinburgh Rugby) was Oban centre Cameron Smith.

Grangemouth Stags: Philip Johnston; James Denny, Gary Dempsey, David Innes , Kudakwashe Pedyo; Craig Sangster, Roddy McPherson, Steve Carrie, James Craig, David Jamieson, Conner McFarlane, Colin McInally, Gavin Curran, Stephen Neil and David McFarlane.

Subs: Jamie McNab, Callum Serafini, Steve Binnie, Ian Weir, Bryan Aspinall, Daniel Ward, Stuart Allan

Oban Lorne: Ryan Jackson, Calum MacLachlan, Craig Wright, Cameron Smith, Alex Cadzow, Ruaridh Aitken, Dougie Pender; Liam Burns, Robin MacQueen, Tommy Sutherland, Jamie MacMillan, Neil Rimmer, Struan Smith, Andrew MacDougall and Corrie Louw.

Subs: Andrew Johnstone, Mark McTighe, Fergus Mathieson, Lorne MacLachlan, Allan Wright, Robert Wright, Connor Ferris.

Referee: Duncan McClement