Dundee HSFP and Hawick go head-to-head in capital play-off

On Saturday (27 April), Dundee HSFP and Hawick will go head-to-head at Meggetland, in the capital, to decide who will play in the RBS Premier Division next season.

Hawick v Dundee HSFP play-offThe final XV-a-side game of the season for both teams will see the winner remain or be promoted into the top-flight division and the loser remain or be demoted into the RBS National League.

Dundee HSFP and Hawick came second-bottom and runners-up in their respective leagues. Saturday’s match kicks-off at 3pm.

Dundee HSFP head coach, Ian Rankin, said: “Hawick have developed a great deal under Phil Leck and have earned the chance to contest this play-off, however I’m pleased with our team’s preparations and the approach the players have taken.

“We have watched a lot of footage from Hawick’s matches and received feedback from their opponents this season and we’re clear where their strengths lie. We will have to meet them head on in the contact, as this is where the game will be won or lost.

“This match will be a fitting end to one of the highest quality seasons ever.”

Hawick head coach, Phil Leck, said: “Our aim for Saturday is the same aim that we’ve had throughout the season, to get into the top division. We haven’t lost a game since September. We want to win this game and win it well.

“We know exactly how Dundee play and we hope to target them with a few surprises. We know they will have done their homework just as we have, but, we go into this game confident we will be able to come out on top.”

Dundee HSFP team: Jamie Urquhart; Andy McLean, Harry Duthie, Robbie Lavery, Callum Bowie; Jack Steele, Andy Dymock; Neil Dymock (captain), Darell Russell, Alan Brown, Chris Cumming, Andy Redmayne, Danny Levison, Iain Wilson, Richie McIvor. Replacements: Steve Longwell, Gavin Robertson, Andy Linton, Richie Hawkins or Hamish Livingstone and Ross Lemon.

Hawick team: Neil Renwick; Scott McLeod, John Coutts, Graham Hogg, Neil McColm; Rory Hutton, Greg Cottrell; Shawn Muir, Lindsey Gibson, Liam Launders, Kieran Willison, Nick McTaggart, Stuart Graham, Keith Davies, Rory Scott. Replacements: Matthew Landels, Hue Scammell, Barry Keown, Rory Smith, Ali Weir, Graeme Anderson and Danny Landels.

Referee: Peter Allan (Watsonians)