Jones and McGuigan return to Scotland 7s squad

Scotland cap Lee Jones and Glasgow Warrior Byron McGuigan may have the chance to return to a Scotland 7s jersey next weekend at the eighth leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series at Scotstoun Stadium.

Head coach Stephen Gemmell, has named a 14-man extended squad for the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s, which begins a week tomorrow on Saturday 4 April.

Jones and McGuigan bring with them previous experience on the World Series with ten and five caps respectively. Jones was also part of the Scotland Commonwealth Games squad in Delhi in 2010.

Also, in with a chance of winning his first Scotland 7s cap is Scotland 7s elite development player and Jed-Forest winger, Lewis Young.

Gemmell, said: “The Glasgow leg of the World Series is obviously an extremely important tournament for us and with this squad I have brought in experience and rewarded the players who have trained well.

“I’m confident of the talent this group of players has and I believe they can do the job that we’re setting out to do.

“I’m also pleased to be able to include Lewis Young, he has come forward in training and now has a chance to compete for his first cap on the circuit.

Byron McGuigan returns for 7sHaving a home tournament allows us to continue our preparations with seven on seven scenarios, up until the middle of next week. This means I can keep the competitiveness in the group going as late as possible and make a final decision based on current form and training performances. I know the 12 who will be selected, will deserve to play in Glasgow.

“Finally, being on home soil is massive for us, having a big home support behind you makes a huge difference and our responsibility is to make sure we deliver them a great performance.”

The remainder of the team will be made up of Scotland 7s professionals and elite development players and will be captained by Colin Gregor. Gemmell will announce the 12 players to compete in Glasgow no later than next Wednesday (1 May).

The team will play Portugal (1.04pm), England (4.10pm) and New Zealand (7.21pm) on day one of the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s, with their day two fixtures determined by these results.

8 days to Glasgow 7s

Scotland 7s extended squad for the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s at Scotstoun Stadium on Saturday 4 and Sunday 5 May: Chris Dean (Scotland 7s EDP), Struan Dewar (Scotland 7s), Michael Fedo (Scotland 7s), James Fleming (Scotland 7s), Alex Glashan (Scotland 7s EDP), Colin Gregor (captain) (Scotland 7s), John Houston (Scotland 7s), Lee Jones (Edinburgh Rugby), Michael Maltman (Scotland 7s), Byron McGuigan (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Riddell (Scotland 7s), Colin Shaw (Scotland 7s), Andrew Turnbull (Scotland 7s) and Lewis Young (Scotland 7s EDP).

Not considered due to injury: Neil Herron (knee), James Johnstone (abdominal), Mark Robetson (abdominal), Russell Weir (knee) and Gregor Young (shoulder).

Notes to editors

Get your tickets now!

Tickets for the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s tournament, the eighth leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series, are on sale now from £15 per day. All concessions are at half the equivalent adult price. Tickets will be sold for particular stands and designated days, with two-day ‘weekend’ tickets also available. Buy your tickets now.

Tickets can also be purchased at Scotstoun Stadium and Scotstoun Leisure Centre and the SECC near Glasgow’s city centre or through their booking site

For more information on the tournament and for the latest news on Scotland 7s visit and follow us on Twitter @Glasgow7s.

Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s

Scotland are hosting the penultimate leg of the circuit, for a second year, at The Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s, which will take place at Scotstoun Stadium on Saturday 4 and Sunday 5 May 2013.

The Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s is part of the HSBC Sevens World Series.  The event, led by Scottish Rugby, is a partnership with Glasgow Life, Glasgow City Council, the Scottish Government and Event Scotland with the assistance of sportscotland and Glasgow City Marketing Bureau:

  • The HSBC Sevens World Series is a globally recognised event featuring 16 international teams and visiting cities across the world.
  • Glasgow joins the Gold Coast, Dubai, Port Elizabeth, Wellington, Las Vegas, Hong Kong, Tokyo, and London in hosting the competition between 2012 and 2014.
  • Scotstoun Stadium will host 30,000 fans over two days of competition in the penultimate leg of the series.
  • Glasgow is the host city of the Commonwealth Games in 2014 and the HSBC Sevens World Series is a key part in creating a legacy for the games.