Scotland 7s declare 12 for Glasgow 7s

The Scotland 7s squad for the eighth leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series has been cut from 14 men to 12, prior to squads being declared today.

Alex GlashanReturning to the side for the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s is two times capped scrum-half and elite development player Alex Glashan, Glasgow Warrior Byron McGuigan and Edinburgh Rugby’s Lee Jones.

Now only two days away from the first day of the tournament the added competition has been very useful for the host’s preparations.

Gemmell said: “This week, from a preparation point of view, has been good with the extra players because it has meant we have done a lot of seven on seven practice, which has been invaluable.  It has also meant added competition for places, which has kept everyone on their toes.

“In the 12, we have named an established group of players, who have played regularly on the circuit for a number of years now. Andrew Turnbull, Colin Gregor, Scott Riddell, Struan Dewar, Colin Shaw and Michael Fedo.

“Also, John Houston who has recently come on board. He is in a much better place with sevens now becoming a full-time member of the squad.  

“Michael Maltman and Chris Dean have been involved in the last four tournaments, since I came back, and have performed very well and Alex Glashan has done very well to return from injury. He has trained hard over the past two weeks and deserves his inclusion in the squad.

“On top of this, Lee Jones and Byron McGuigan, who both made their name in Scotland through sevens, give us experience and ability from our senior international team and a successful Glasgow Warriors squad, respectively.
“Selecting the 12 hasn’t been easy we have released our top try scorer in the past two years, James Fleming, and Lewis Young has been training very well.  But, we’re basing our decisions on the balance of the group because this is a massive tournament as we’re at home and fighting relegation.

Jones, McGuigan & Glashan return

On day one (Saturday 4 May) Scotland 7s will play Portugal (1.04pm), England (4.10pm) and New Zealand (7.21pm) with their day two fixtures determined by these results. It is imperative that they do well as they seek to move away from the relegation zone, where they are currently tied with USA in 12th place.  Only the top 12 sides at the conclusion of the Glasgow tournament are guaranteed core status for next year’s HSBC Sevens World Series.

Scotland 7s squad for the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s at Scotstoun Stadium on Saturday 4 and Sunday 5 May: Chris Dean (Scotland 7s EDP), Struan Dewar (Scotland 7s), Michael Fedo (Scotland 7s), Alex Glashan (Scotland 7s EDP), Colin Gregor (captain) (Scotland 7s), John Houston (Scotland 7s), Lee Jones (Edinburgh Rugby), Michael Maltman (Scotland 7s), Byron McGuigan (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Riddell (Scotland 7s), Colin Shaw (Scotland 7s) and Andrew Turnbull (Scotland 7s).

Notes to editors

Get your tickets now!

Tickets for the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s tournament, the eighth leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series, are on sale now from £15 per day. All concessions are at half the equivalent adult price. Tickets will be sold for particular stands and designated days, with two-day ‘weekend’ tickets also available. Buy your tickets now.

Tickets can also be purchased at Scotstoun Stadium and Scotstoun Leisure Centre and the SECC near Glasgow’s city centre or through their booking site

For more information on the tournament and for the latest news on Scotland 7s visit and follow us on Twitter @Glasgow7s.

Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s

Scotland are hosting the penultimate leg of the circuit, for a second year, at The Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s, which will take place at Scotstoun Stadium on Saturday 4 and Sunday 5 May 2013.

The Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s is part of the HSBC Sevens World Series. 

The event, led by Scottish Rugby, is a partnership with Glasgow Life, Glasgow City Council, the Scottish Government and Event Scotland with the assistance of sportscotland and Glasgow City Marketing Bureau:

  • The HSBC Sevens World Series is a globally recognised event featuring 16 international teams and visiting cities across the world.
  • Glasgow joins the Gold Coast, Dubai, Port Elizabeth, Wellington, Las Vegas, Hong Kong, Tokyo, and London in hosting the competition between 2012 and 2014.
  • Scotstoun Stadium will host 30,000 fans over two days of competition in the penultimate leg of the series.
  • Glasgow is the host city of the Commonwealth Games in 2014 and the HSBC Sevens World Series is a key part in creating a legacy for the games.