Fans flock to Scotstoun sevens showcase

The second year of the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s once again brought fans of the abbreviated game flocking to Scotstoun Stadium.

Some 13,380 supporters were here today to see South Africa win the Ned Haig Cup by disposing of their perennial rivals New Zealand 28-21 in a superb final. South Africa thus built on their triumph in Tokyo in the preceding IRB tournament.

There was some consolation for New Zealand however, as by reaching the cup semi-final they secured enough ranking points to capture the HSBC Sevens World Series for the 11th time.

Disappointing display by Scots

It was a disappointing tournament for Scotland, beaten by Kenya 19-24 in today’s bowl semi-final.  Scotland must now finish in the top three (out of eight teams) in a play-off at next weekend’s Twickenham sevens to preserve their core status on the IRB circuit.

The lesser silverware at Scotstoun was won by France (Shield), Australia (Bowl) and USA (Plate), while England won a cracking third placed play-off match against Wales.

The cumulative attendance for the two day showcase of the talents of 16 of the best international sevens teams on the planet was up on last year, standing at 26,782.

Scottish Rugby’s Director of Commercial Operations, Communications and Public Affairs, Dominic McKay said: “Thanks to the players and officials of all 16 teams for 45 pulsating sevens ties over the two days.

“What an atmosphere created, too, with supporters really getting into the movie theme and savouring every minute of the occasion.

“Next year, the event will be back at Scotstoun (3 and 4 May, 2014) and tickets are on sale now, frozen at this year’s prices on

“Next year’s tournament too will be a precursor to the Glasgow Commonwealth Games and we look forward to raising the bar higher still.”

Today’s results:
Bowl quarter-finals: Samoa 17 Russia 14; Australia 36 Portugal 0; France 7 Kenya 22; Scotland 31 Spain 5.
Cup quarter-finals: South Africa 22 USA 5; Fiji 12 England 15; Wales 26 Canada 7; New Zealand 42 Argentina 10.
Shield semi-finals: Russia 41 Portugal 7; France 41 Spain 0.
Bowl semi-finals: Samoa 12 Australia 17; Kenya 24 Scotland 19
Plate semi-finals: USA 22 Fiji 7; Canada 7 Argentina 22
Cup semi-finals: South Africa 24 England 17; Wales 14 New Zealand 26
Shield Final: Russia 17 France 21
Bowl Final: Australia 12 Kenya 5
Plate Final: USA 17 Argentina 7
Third place play-off 24 Wales 21
Cup Final: South Africa 28 New Zealand 21