Kings Select win cross-series spoils

Another showcase that took place at Scotstoun Stadium this weekend, at the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s, was the game between the Kings of the 7s select and Legacy 7s select. 

Legacy 7s SelectThe Kings of the 7s Series is made up of ten competitions in the Scottish Borders, whilst the Legacy 7s Series consists of five competitions across the central belt.

The exhibition match, new this year, is a celebration of the two biggest sevens series' that take place in Scotland each year, with squads selected in a Barabarians-style from teams across the competitions. 

The game itself provided a great display of sevens rugby with a total of eight tries being scored infront of a packed stadium.

The Kings of the 7s select came away with the bragging rights at the end of the tie, as they defeated Legacy 7s Select 29-15. 

Having scored the first try of the match, the Kings controlled the first-half, going in at half-time 19-5.

Despite pulling it back to 19-15, Legacy 7s Select's second-half comeback never quite materialised as Kings of the 7s closed out the tie with two unanswered tries through Bryce Turner (Gala) and Martin Cruikshanks (Peebles).

Speaking after the match, Kings of the 7s coach for the day Scott Nichol (Gala) said “the boys did great, on a huge stage. What more could you want to motivate you than playing in front of this crowd.”

Asked whether the exhibition will become an annual event, Nichol replied, “I think it will. It’s a great idea. A bit of a logistical nightmare for us, coming at the business end of our season, but the boys that came took it for what it was, a chance to play at a world event."
Legacy 7s Select: Grant Strang (Glasgow Hawks) (captain), Chris Mason (Howe of Fife), Sean MacDonald (Stirling County), Andy Gilman (GHA), Sean Murray (Glasgow Hawks), Tony Heron (Glasgow Hawks), Dom Martin (Howe of Fife), Ross Inglis (Hamilton), Brian Archibald (Stirling County) and Joff Hope (Stirling County).

Kings of the 7s Select: Rory Sutherland (Biggar), Bryce Turner (Gala), Nyle Godsmarck (Edinburgh Accies), Craig Russell (Hawick), Darren Clapperton (Selkirk), Keith Davies (Hawick), Martin Cruickshank (Peebles) and David Colvine (Melrose)