Fleming to replace injured Houston

James Fleming will replace John Houston for this weekend’s HSBC Sevens World Series qualifier in London.

James Fleming trainingHouston drops out the squad unable to recover from a neck injury sustained at last weekend’s Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s.

With their World Series core status at stake, Fleming is a fitting replacement, bringing with him 20 caps and 54 tries on the circuit.

Head coach, Stephen Gemmell, said: “We’re disappointed to lose John for the qualifier, but we wish him a speedy recovery.

“James flew down last night to join the squad. We’re in a fortunate position to bring in such an adept replacement at this late stage in the week and we know James will fit right into the squad and our game plan.

“This weekend is extremely important for us and we must play to our potential and consistently to make sure we secure our core status for next season.”

Scotland 7s will play Georgia at 9.22am, Zimbabwe at 12.34pm and Hong Kong at 4pm on Saturday 11 May in the group stages.

They will be required to finish in the top three of the tournament if they are to secure their core status in HSBC Sevens World Series. After playing each team once in their group on Saturday they will be re-seeded depending on where they finish in the group and all will enter a quarter-final.

After the re-seeding, team one will play team eight, team two will play team seven and so on. The winners will go into a semi-final with the two winners of the semi guaranteeing their place in next year’s HSBC Sevens World Series. The two losers of the semis will then play a third-placed play-off with the winner of this match also earning core team status.

Scotland 7s team to play in HSBC Sevens World Series Qualifying tournament at Twickenham on Saturday 11 and Sunday 12 May: Chris Dean (Scotland 7s EDP), Struan Dewar (Scotland 7s), Michael Fedo (Scotland 7s), James Fleming (Scotland 7s) Alex Glashan (Scotland 7s EDP), Colin Gregor (captain) (Scotland 7s), Lee Jones (Edinburgh Rugby), Michael Maltman (Scotland 7s), Byron McGuigan (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Riddell (Scotland 7s), Colin Shaw (Scotland 7s) and Andrew Turnbull (Scotland 7s).