Development squad selected for Spanish sojurn

As part of their progression to under-18 age grade level, a squad of 20 has been selected for the national under-17 Player Development Camp this summer.          Photo: graduates of the 2009 Player Development Camp, Stuart Hogg and Mark Bennett in action for Glasgow Warriors in the RaboDirect PRO12 playoff against Leinster

Scotland under-17 head coach Peter Laverie said: "Selection came through a variety of sources - from national selection fixtures, reports from age-grade coaches, exile camps and a trial game, and a national trials weekend at the Scottish Police College at Tulliallan.

"It was difficult to narrow down the squad from such a wide field this year and the standard of this key group is very high."

The players, management and support staff will spend an intensive fortnight at the facility in Valladolid in north-central Spain in early July where the focus is on technical, tactical, mental and physical (strength and conditioning) training.

Scottish Rugby's Specialist Coaching Co-ordinator and Scotland under-18 head coach, Eddie Pollock, said: "We took 24 players to last year's camp and 16 of those continued to play at international level for Scotland under-18 this year.

"It's a hugely beneficial experience for these boys, getting them into the environment of a high performance athlete - including nutrition advice, reviewing their performance on video and so on - and by identifying the players here, we can support them through to the next level."

All identified players will continue to be monitored through their club, school games and regional programmes as this playing season ends and the next begins.

National under-17 Player Development Squad

Stephen Ainslie (Loretto School / Berwick)

Lewis Anderson (Marr College / Marr)

Ben Chalmers    (Earlston High School / Melrose)

James Couper    (Kelvinside Academy / Glasgow Hawks)

Scott Cummings  (Kelvinside Academy)

Dan Elkington      (Sedbergh School / Newcastle Falcons)

Zander Fagerson   (Strathallan School) 

Hugh Fraser          (Merchiston Castle School)

George Hedgely     (Giggleswick School / Newcastle Falcons)

Ruari Howarth        (Galashiels Academy / Gala Wanderers)

Rory Hutchinson     (MPW (Cambridge) / Shelford)

Chris Jollands        (The High School of Dundee)

Patrick Kelly            (Merchiston Castle School)

Jake Kerr            (George Watson’s College)

Josh Laird            (Buckhaven HS / Strathallan / Kirkcaldy)

Andrew Manson    (Stewart’s Melville College)

Reuben Norville     (St. Paul’s College / London Irish)

Gary Robertson      (Galashiels Academy / Gala Wanderers)

Callum Sheldon      (Queen Elizabeth / Kirby Lonsdale & Newcastle Falcons)

Matt Smith            (Stirling HS/Stirling County)

The camp, now in its seventh year, is run through Cumbernauld College with funding from the European Community programme, the Leonardo da Vinci Trust (the criteria of which prohibits team travel within a team’s own country).

Previous participants in this development camp included Scotland, British & Irish Lion Stuart Hogg, Glasgow Warriors and Scotland under-20 Mark Bennett (2009) and Scotland and Glasgow Warriors' Duncan Weir (2008).