2013/14 HSBC Sevens World Series dates confirmed

The International Rugby Board (IRB) has announced the dates for the HSBC Sevens World Series 2013/14, with the Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s returning as the penultimate leg on Saturday 3 and Sunday 4 May.

Glasgow 7sThe 15th edition of the record-breaking Series will visit the same nine countries as in 2012/13, although there are two changes in the order of rounds. 

The first three events at the end of 2013 remain unchanged with Australia's standing alone in October before the Dubai-South Africa double-header. In 2014, the Series will visit the USA before New Zealand and then Japan before Hong Kong.

The final two tournaments will again be in Scotland and England. 

IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: "With its Olympic credentials boosting rugby's landscape around the world Rugby Sevens is growing all the time. 

"Throughout the 2012/13 Series we have seen once again how rugby fans are supporting these magnificent events, either attending in their many thousands or contributing to more record broadcast figures around the world, with a 10% increase in live coverage. 

"As we continue on our countdown to Rugby Sevens' Olympic debut in Rio in 2016, we are delighted to have nine such strong tournaments showcasing these world class athletes and the strength of competition between them. 

"Our congratulations go to New Zealand on winning their 11th Series title, and to Scotland, Spain and Portugal for winning core team status for the 2013/14 Series, which is set to be more competitive than ever." 

2013/14 HSBC Sevens World Series dates:

  • Round 1 – Australia (Gold Coast) – 12-13 October 2013
  • Round 2 – UAE (Dubai) – 29-30 November 2013
  • Round 3 – South Africa (Port Elizabeth) – 7-8 December 2014
  • Round 4 – USA (Las Vegas) – 24-26 January 2014
  • Round 5 – New Zealand (Wellington) – 7-8 February 2014
  • Round 6 – Japan (Tokyo) – 22-23 March 2014
  • Round 7 – China (Hong Kong) – 28-30 March 2014
  • Round 8 – Scotland (Glasgow) – 3-4 May 2014
  • Round 9 – England (London) – 10-11 May 2014

Notes to editors

2014 ticket prices frozen!

Tickets for the 2014 Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s tournament, the eighth leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series, will remain from £15 per day for adults and £7.50 for concessions.

Tickets will be sold for particular stands and for designated days, with weekend passes also available from £25. Family tickets (two adults and two under-18s) can be bought for £35. Buy tickets now.

For all the up-to-date news and information on next year’s tournament visit www.scottishrugby.org and follow @Glasgow 7s on Twitter.

2014 Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s

Scotland are hosting the penultimate leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series, for a third year, at The Emirates Airline Glasgow 7s at Scotstoun Stadium on Saturday 3 and Sunday 4 May 2014.

The event, led by Scottish Rugby, is a partnership with Glasgow Life, Glasgow City Council, the Scottish Government and Event Scotland with the assistance of sportscotland and Glasgow City Marketing Bureau:

  • The HSBC Sevens World Series is a globally recognised event featuring 16 international teams, 15 core and one invitational per tournament, from across the globe.
  • Glasgow joins the Gold Coast, Dubai, Port Elizabeth, Wellington, Las Vegas, Hong Kong, Tokyo, and London in hosting the competition between 2012 and 2014.
  • Scotstoun Stadium will host 30,000 fans over two days of competition in the penultimate leg of the circuit.
  • Glasgow is the host city of the Commonwealth Games in 2014 and the HSBC Sevens World Series is a key part in creating a legacy for the games.