Curtain comes down on club year at annual awards dinner

Over 400 club members marked the end of the rugby season this evening at the national stadium with the annual Scottish Rugby Club Awards Dinner bringing together clubs from across Scotland.Billy McHarg

Ayr Rugby Club were awarded the prestigious RBS Club of the Season award after winning the double (RBS Premier Division and RBS Cup) last month and for their fantastic infrastructure from senior to youth level with a total of 18 teams across the club.

A further 17 awards were handed out at the glitzy gathering that took place in Murrayfield’s President Suite.

It was quite a night for west coast rugby as Hillhead/Jordanhill snapped up the RBS Women’s Club of the Season, Marr’s Craig Redpath and Glasgow Hawks’ John Coupar were handed the Coach and Youth Coach of the Season awards, respectively and Irvine’s Allan Wilson won the RBS Club Volunteer of the Season.

Wilson won his award for his instrumental role in assuring a healthy future for the Irvine club.

Ken Macaulay of North Berwick Rugby Club won the Spirit of Rugby trophy and James Doig of Musselburgh, the Brigadier Frank Coutts Memorial Try of the Season for his score against Lasswade in RBS Championship Division B in February.

A further ten “Player of the Season” awards were also handed out.

Scottish Rugby’s head of clubs and schools rugby, Nick Rennie, said: “Tonight has been a fantastic celebration and showcase of the great work going on across the country in our sport.

Players, coaches, volunteers and committee members have been recognised for their commitment to rugby at all levels of the game.

Craig Redpath

“Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners.”

RBS Ambassador Chris Paterson said: “Ayr are a worthy RBS Club of the Season for the excellent results they’re achieving on the pitch and in growing the game.

“On behalf of the whole RBS Rugby team, I’d like to congratulate Billy McHarg, Kenny Murray and everyone else involved with Ayr on their fantastic success this year.”

Next year’s Scottish Rugby Club Awards Dinner will be held on Friday 30 May 2014.


2012/13 Club award winners:


RBS Club of the Season – Ayr

Billy McHarg, Ayr President said:

"The top flight this season was as tough as it's ever been so to win that and then the cup was some achievement."

RBS Women’s Club of the Season – Hillhead/Jordanhill

Caine McIntyre, coach of Hillhead/Jordanhill said:

We set out at the start of the season to win the double, but we weren't sure if we could achieve it. The girls have worked ever so hard to get to where they are now."

Coach of the Season – Craig Redpath (Marr)

I put the success of the season down to all the boys. I was luck enough to have Jim Telfer and Rob Moffat as coaches and all I'm doing is passing my knowledge onto the young boys at the club. I'm lucky because of the group of players I have at the present time and it's just an honour to have them."

Youth Coach of the Season – John Coupar (Glasgow Hawks)

Referee of the Season – Adrian Graves (Edinburgh Referee Society)

Spirit of Rugby – Ken Macaulay (North Berwick)

RBS Volunteer of the Season – Allan Wilson (Irvine)

Brigadier Frank Coutts Memorial Try of the Season - James Doig (Musselburgh)

RBS Premier Division Player of the Season – Dan Teague (Edinburgh Accies)

RBS National League Player of the Season – Andy Hill (Hamilton)

RBS Championship A Player of the Season – Grant McDonald (GHA)

RBS Championship B Player of the Season – James Hemara (Peebles)

RBS Caledonia Divisions Player of the Season – Gary Dempsey (Grangemouth Stags)

RBS East Divisions Player of the Season – Jamie Peters (Dunbar)

RBS West Divisions Player of the Season – Mike Borthwick (GHK)

RBS Women’s Premier 1 Player of the Season – Gillian Inglis (Melrose)

RBS Women’s Premier 2 Player of the Season – Libbie Jones (Morgan Academy)

RBS Women’s National Player of the Season – Laura MacCormick (Oban Lorne)