Disappointment for Scotland 7s in Lyon

Scotland 7s won one of three games on day two of the FIRA-AER Grand Prix Series in Lyon, ending their campaign as Plate runners-up

Michael MaltmanThe Scots beat Spain 12-5 in the Plate semi-final after losing to Russia, 19-7 in their final group match of Pool B. They then lost to Portugal 26-7, despite having been victorious over them yesterday in the pool.

At the end of the day, regardless of the poor results, head coach Stephen Gemmell saw the exercise as being beneficial ahead of the Rugby World Cup 7s in Moscow at the end of this month (28-30 June).

He said: “We wanted this weekend to be about looking at some players we believe have something to offer Scotland 7s and we’ve done that, therefore this weekend has been of benefit.

“I will go back to Scotland and reflect on what I have seen and announce my squad for the Rugby World Cup 7s next week.

“However, it is disappointing when you look at the weekend and see that we lacked consistency, hunger, desire and accuracy. We lost the confrontational battle and our individual skills let us down.

“You can’t operate with such fluctation, where you have one good performance and then one bad and so on. We must raise our standard in every part of the game and we need players to step up to the plate.”

Lyon FIRA-AER Grand Prix Series

Day one results

Scotland 5-31 France
Try: Nyle Godsmark
Scotland 19-21 Germany
Tries: Andrew Turnbull, Lewis Young and Chris Dean
Conversions: Jim Thompson (2)
Scotland 12-10 Portugal
Tries: Nyle Godsmark and Andrew Turnbull
Conversion: Jim Thompson
Scotland 14-5 Italy
Tries: Mark Robertson and James Johnstone
Conversions: Jim Thompson (2)

Day two results

Scotland 7-19 Russia
Try: Andrew Turnbull
Conversion: Jim Thompson
Scotland 12-5 Spain
Tries: Andrew Turnbull and Michael Maltman
Conversion: Jim Thompson
Scotland 7-26 Portugal
Try: Michael Maltman
Conversion: Jim Thompson

Scotland 7s who played in FIRA-AER tournament on Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 June 2013 at the Matmut Stadium in Lyon: Joseva Nayacavou (Royal Scots), Chris Dean (Scotland 7s EDP), Michael Maltman (Scotland 7s), Nyle Godsmark (Edinburgh Accies), Callum Reid (Edinburgh Accies), Lewis Young (Scotland 7s), Alex Glashan (Scotland 7s EDP), Jim Thompson (London Scottish), Mark Robertson (Scotland 7s), Andrew Turnbull (captain) (Scotland 7s), James Fleming (Scotland 7s) and James Johnstone (Scotland 7s).