Bennett to captain under-20s for USA clash

Scotland under-20 head coach Sean Lineen has appointed Glasgow Warriors centre, Mark Bennett, as captain for his side’s 9-12th play-off against USA tomorrow at 7.15pm (BST).

Mark BennettBennett is one of a number of changes in the starting line-up with Lineen also choosing to switch around his half-backs. Ben Cooper makes his first start of the tournament after kicking the winning goal against Samoa last week, while Scott Steele starts at scrum-half ahead of Ali Price, who drops to the bench.

In the pack, Jamie Bhatti starts at loosehead prop, with James Malcolm dropping to the bench; Phil Cringle takes the number 3 jersey; Ruairidh Leishman and Adam Sinclair pair-up in the second row while Jonny Gray is rested and Eoghan Masterson moves to the back-row. Will Bordill will operate from number 7 in place of Alex Henderson who drops to the bench and Tommy Spinks starts at number 8.

Lineen said: “The boys are looking forward to tomorrow’s game. It is a huge opportunity for players to put their hands up for last game we will play.

“We can’t underestimate USA, but we will be staying firmly focused on how we perform and making sure we execute the basics well, get the set piece right and ensure we go forward.

“We have made a few changes for this match, notably resting our captain Jonny Gray. Others also have a few bumps and bruises so we have taken the chance to keep things fresh and give everyone who has travelled an opportunity to play.

“It has been an intense few weeks, but I’ve been really impressed with all the players’ attitudes. Now we need to go out and keep raising our expectations.”

Scotland under-20 to play USA under-20 on Tuesday 18 June 2013 at 7.15pm (BST) at Stade Pascal Laporte, Nantes, France:

15 JJ Kilmartin (Bath Rugby)

14 Jamie Farndale (Edinburgh Rugby / Edinburgh Accies)
13 Chris Auld (Edinburgh Rugby / Gala)
12 Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors) (captain)
11 Rory Hughes (Glasgow Warriors / Stirling County)

10 Ben Cooper (Otley)
9 Scott Steele (Leicester Tigers)

1 Jamie Bhatti (Stirling County)
2 Callum Black (Edinburgh Accies)
3 Phil Cringle (Edinburgh Rugby / Stewart’s-Melville FP)
4 Ruairidh Leishman (Stirling County)
5 Adam Sinclair (Perpignan)
6 Eoghan Masterson (Leinster)
7 Will Bordill (Glasgow Warriors)
8 Tommy Spinks (London Scottish)

16 Reyner Kennedy (Stirling County)
17 Robbie Wilson (Boroughmuir)
18 James Malcolm (GHA)
19 Alex Henderson (Boroughmuir)
20 Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors / Stirling County)
21 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)
22 Blair Hutchison (Loughborough Students)
23 Damien Hoyland (Boroughmuir)