Gray to lead under-20s in final push

Glasgow Warriors' Jonny Gray returns to lead Scotland under-20 into their last match, the 9th/10th place play-off against Samoa, tomorrow (23 June) kicking off at 2pm (BST) at Stade Pascal Laporte in Nantes.

Glasgow Warriors' Jonny Gray

Gray is one of a number of changes In the forwards with Adam Ashe coming back in at no 8 and Russell Anderson at hooker. Meanwhile Robbie Fergusson starts at fullback and Tommy Allan comes back in at stand-off.

Head coach Sean Lineen said: "Robbie (Fergusson) played very well (against USA) so he's starting at 15 and it's good to be able to have Tommy Allan back in the team. We've had a couple of good wins and we've picked the team we consider is the best to take on Samoa tomorrow.

"It's been a long three and a half weeks and we want to finish on a high. It'll be a tough game and, up front, we have to match their physicality.

"They're incredibly big men so we've got to go low and go forward. We're just not built the same way so we have to be brave and give it all we've got."

Scotland under-20 to play Samoa under-20 on Saturday 22 June 2013 at 2pm (BST) at Stade Pascal Laporte, Nantes, France

15 Robbie Fergusson (Ayr)
14 Damien Hoyland (Boroughmuir)
13 Chris Auld (Edinburgh Rugby / Gala)
12 Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Rory Hughes (Glasgow Warriors / Stirling County)

10 Tommy Allan (Perpignan)
9 Scott Steele (Leicester Tigers)

1 Jamie Bhatti (Stirling County) *
2 Russell Anderson (Gala )  *
3 Phil Cringle (Edinburgh Rugby / Stewart’s-Melville FP)
4 Adam Sinclair (Perpignan)
5 Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors / Currie)
6 Alex Henderson ( Boroughmuir)  
7 Will Bordill (Glasgow Warriors)
8 Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors/Stirling County)

16 Callum Black ( Edinburgh Accies)
17 James Malcolm (GHA) *
18 Robby Wilson ( Boroughmuir)
19 Ruairidh Leishman (Stirling County)
20 Eoghan Masterson (Leinster)
21 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)
22 Jamie Farndale (Edinburgh Rugby / Edinburgh Accies)
23 JJ Kilmartin (Bath Rugby)

* supported by sportscotland Institute of Sport