First Edinburgh derby a chance for Currie to put difficult start behind them

When Currie and Edinburgh Accies go head-to-head at Malleny Park tomorrow they will kick-off the first RBS Premiership, capital derby of the new season.

Edinburgh Accies v CurrieFor the home side, they will be hoping to pick up their first win having lost all three of their opening matches. However, it’ll be no easy task as they welcome the British & Irish Cup side, who currently sit in fourth place in the table.

Currie captain, Mark Cairns, said: “We’ve had a really tough three weeks. We feel we have trained well but when it comes to our games we haven’t been able to follow through.

“In all three matches we have got parts of our game right and against Ayr last weekend we were playing well up until 60 minutes, but then we let slip and they capitalised, scoring a series of tries.

“Tomorrow’s game is huge for us, we would hate to lose four games on the bounce. We want to put our start behind us and are desperate to win. This will require 80 minutes of full concentration.”

Edinburgh Accies head coach, Jonny Else, said: “We make the trip to Malleny Park knowing we face a team that will be deeply determined for a win. However, we have worked hard this week at training to sort out our tactical and technical errors that we made last week. We must make sure that we are accurate when in possession of the ball.”

Also in the capital, Heriot’s host Ayr at Goldenacre.

Heriot’s coach, Phil Smith, said: “We will be looking for another controlled performance this week as that area of our game was probably the most pleasing aspect last week.

“We’re aware of Ayr's strengths and know we will have to cope with a very powerful pack and a dangerous backline. However, as we’re looking a bit more settled and more dangerous I’m hopeful we can put our stamp on this cracking fixture.”

Ayr head coach, Peter Laverie, said: “Heriot’s always pose a difficult challenge as they play a good brand of open rugby and are especially strong in front of their home crowd at Goldenacre.

“Jason Hill and Murray Douglas are key players up front and they have plenty of threat in the backline with Graham Wilson, Colin Goudie, Liam Steele and Cammy Ferguson.

“Phil will have them ready and organised of course. He loves the bragging rights so we will have to try our best to disappoint him.”

The remainder of the round four RBS Premiership matches will take place at Old Anniesland, Mansfield Park and Rubislaw. Glasgow Hawks welcome Gala, Melrose travel to Hawick and Aberdeen Grammar host Stirling County, respectively. All matches kick-off at 3pm.

Gala head coach, George Graham, said: “We will have to raise our game and stop making silly errors if we’re to get anything out of our game against Glasgow Hawks tomorrow.

“Last weekend we started well against Aberdeen Grammar but we took our foot off the gas and they led at half-time. Glasgow Hawks lost narrowly last weekend and being back at home they’ll come into this game full of confidence.

Aberdeen Grammar head coach, Kevin Wyness, said: “The last two seasons’ matches between Aberdeen and Stirling have been pretty exciting and hopefully this week is no different. It’s always good to have a local derby with our Caledonia opponents.”

Once again a series of players from the pro-ranks will be utilised by the clubs. From Scotland 7s Andrew Turnbull (Currie), Scott Riddell (Edinburgh Accies) James Fleming, Michael Maltman (both Heriot’s), James Johnstone (Hawick), Mark Robertson and Struan Dewar (both Melrose) will all have a run.

From Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh Rugby, Scott Wight, Finlay Gillies (both Glasgow Hawks), Jerry Yanuyanutawa (Ayr), Robert McAlpine (Hawick), Alun Walker, Lewis Niven (both Melrose) and Fraser Brown (Aberdeen Grammar) are selected. 

In the women’s RBS Premiership Melrose and Stirling County go head-to-head in the Borders, RHC Cougars welcome Murrayfield Wanderers and Hillhead/Jordanhill travel to play Watsonians on Sunday.

RBS Women's Premiership

Currie v Edinburgh Accies, Malleny Park, 3pm

Currie team: Ruaridh Smith; Andrew Turnbull, Ethan Pollock, Jack Broadley, Calum Kerr; George Horne, Richard Snedden; John Cox, Isaac Miller, Alastair Hamilton, Gary Temple, Michael Vernal, Mark Cairns (captain), Malcolm Peacock and Ross Weston.
Replacements: Joe Roe, Graeme Carson, Karl Main, Joe Stachan and Harvey Elms.

Edinburgh Accies team: Jamie Sole; Jamie Farndale, Ewen Campbell, Iain Berthinussen, Nyle Godsmark; Alex Blair, Ruaridh Bonner; Alex Allan, Michael Liness, Phil Cringle, Greg Campbell (captain), Jamie McCarthy, Robin Snape, Andrew Findlater and Neil Aitken.
Replacements: Dave Bates, Shaun Strudwick, Scott Riddell, Alex Glashan and Chris Dean.

Referee: Neil Paterson


Glasgow Hawks v Gala, Old Anniesland, 3pm

Glasgow Hawks team: James Gormley; Tom Steven, Ally MacLay, Jack Steele, Robert Beattie; Scott Wight, Hadden McPherson; Steven Findlay, Finlay Gillies, John Lohoar, Andy Linton, Rory McKay, Andy Kirkland, Mateusz Bartoszek and Ross Miller (captain).
Replacements: Callum Kerr, Brendan Cullinane, Stephen Leckie, Davie Milnes and Tony Herron.

Gala team: Andy McLean; Graeme Spiers, Chris Auld, Ewan Scott, Grant Sommerville; David O’Hagan, George Graham (captain); Rory Sutherland, Russell Anderson, Ewan McQuillin, Opeta Palepoi, Craig Borthwick, Gary Graham, Stevie Cairns and Tom Weir.
Replacements: Callum Macintosh, A N Other, Chris Weir, Craig Russell and Gavin Young.

Referee: James Matthew


Heriot’s v Ayr, Goldenacre, 3pm

Heriot’s team: Liam Steele; Colin Goudie, Keith Buchan, Cameron Ferguson, James Fleming; Max Nimmo, Graham Wilson; Craig Owenson, George Turner, Stewart Mustard, Murray Douglas, Russell Nimmo, Michael Maltman, Alex Henderson and Jason Hill.
Replacements: A N Other, Malcolm Welch, Chris Mulligan, Jack Turley and Harry Boisseau.

Ayr team: Grant Anderson; Craig Gossman, Robbie Fergusson, Dean Kelbrick, Kerr Gossman; Slyvain Diez, Murray McConnell; Denford Mutamangira, Fergus Scott, Nick Cox, Scott Sutherland, Colin White, Callum Templeton, Graham Fisken and Calum Forrester (captain).
Replacements: David Young, Jerry Yanuyanutawa, Colin Dunn, Peter Jericevich and Finn Russell.

Referee: Peter Allan


Hawick v Melrose, Mansfield Park, 3pm

Hawick team: Neil Renwick; Scott McLeod, James Johnstone, Lee Armstrong, Greg Anderson; Rory Hutton, Jake Evans; Shawn Muir, Lindsey Gibson, Liam Launders, Rob McAlpine, Bruce McNeil, Nick MacTaggart, Rory Scott and Keith Davies.
Replacements: Matt Landles, Hue Scammell, Kieran Willison, Ally Weir and James Parker.

Melrose team: Austin Lockington; Damien Hoyland, Mark Robertson, Joe Helps, Alan Dodds; Andrew Skeen, Bruce Colvine; Nicky Little, Richard Ferguson, Gary Holborn, James Head, Ross Ovens, Peter Eccles, Struan Dewar and Graeme Dodds.
Replacements: Alun Walker, Nick Beavon, Lewis Niven, Grant Runciman and T. Wilson.

Referee: Lloyd Linton


Aberdeen Grammar v Stirling County, Rubislaw, 3pm

Aberdeen Grammar team: Angus Rennie; Calum Gordon, Will Wardlaw, Graeme Clow, Erland Oag or Grant Walker; Mark Ryan, Morgan Ward; Matt Schosser, Sam Bingham, Struan Cessford, Callum Harvey, Jamie Metcalfe, Greig Ryan (captain), Tony McGuiness and Tom Preece.
Replacements: Fraser Brown, Mike Cox, Ed Nimmons, Sam Ryan and Luke Earle-Wright.

Stirling County team: TBC
Replacements: TBC

Referee: Iain Heard