High School of Dundee march on to final

This afternoon (9 November 2013) there was a huge turnout on the Murrayfield back pitches to watch the High School of Dundee and George Heriot’s School go head to head in the semi-final of the under-18 Brewin Dolphin Cup.

Up for grabs was the chance to take to the hallowed Murrayfield turf to compete against the winner of Strathallan and George Watson’s College which will be played this Monday (11 November) at Beveridge Park in Kirkcaldy.


The game was a dogged affair, both sides showing sheer aggression and pride in their colours making for an extremely bruising affair. Despite the worsening conditions, both teams looked to play an exciting, expansive brand of rugby.

The eventual victors of today’s game were the High School of Dundee winning 27-12. As well as a penalty, High School of Dundee scored four tries from; Jamie Clarkson, Ronan Joy, Adam Powrie and Marshall MacLeod – two of which were converted. All of the Dundee kicks were from the boot of centre Duncan Leese.

Heriot’s tries came from winger Robert Kay and prop Sandy Steven, one of which was converted by stand-off Finn Russell.

The High School of Dundee head coach Ewan Jack, said;

“The boys were inspired by the heart and determination of the forwards who were relentless throughout today – notably back-row players, captain Chris Jollands and number eight Brewster White.

“We know that today’s victory is just the start of the hard work, yet such a great win is testament to all the boy’s graft to date.

“We can’t wait to make a return to Murrayfield and who knows maybe go the whole way”.

The final of the under-18 Brewin Dolphin Cup will take place on Wednesday 27 November (7.45pm) on the Murrayfield main pitch.


High School of Dundee team: Jamie Clarkson; Calum Hedigan, Ewan Fox, Duncan Leese, Ronan Joy; Marshall MacLeod, Henry Sampson; Adam Powrie, Angus Milne, Akdas Hussain, Callum Sinclair, Jamie Mather, Ollie Davidson, Chris Jollands (captain) and Brewster White.

Replacements: Paul Kidd, Calum Bennett, Alex Ashworth, Cameron McCrimmon, Calum Archibald, Scott Lothian and Rhys Paterson.

George Heriot’s School team: Archie Cable; Robbie Shaw, Ben Porteous, Finlay Hutchison, Robert Kay; Finn Russell, Alex Anderson; Sandy Steven, Rory Hand, Struan Sloan, Connor Cooper, Jamie Scott, John Smyth, Andrew Mawbey and Jamie Gilmour (captain).

Replacements: Sharav Senthill, Jack Fullerton, Sandy Lamb, Yongjin Yang and David Andrews

Referee: Graeme Wells