Currie look to climb out of danger zone

Following a much needed win in the RBS Premiership a fortnight ago at Bridgehaugh (27-10 v Stirling County), Currie return to the top-flight division to take on league leaders Ayr tomorrow at Malleny Park (kick-off 3pm).

Karl Main will be in the back-row for CurrieThe capital side have slumped to the bottom of the division, but have looked to be instilling some confidence back into their game in recent weeks, also having won their first RBS Edinburgh Regional Cup match against Biggar last Friday, 34-12.

Head coach, Ally Donaldson, said: “Ayr are a quality side and are not top of the league by accident. Not only that, they are boosted by pro-player James Eddie, which will make tomorrow’s task even more formidable.

“Our captain, Mark Cairns has tweaked a hamstring this week and is replaced by Karl Main (pictured) in the second row.”

Peter Laverie, Ayr head coach, said: “Fixtures at Malleny Park are always difficult, Currie have made it a real stronghold over the years. Despite the difference in league positions I expect we will face a determined, committed performance from Ally's players.

“Currie have an interesting mixture this week with the experienced Ross Weston and Richard Snedden leading talented youngsters such as Karl Main, George Horne and Ruaraidh Smith whom I know from Scotland under-17s days.

“Add to that Edinburgh's Tom Brown and Stuart McInally and you can see that this match requires nothing less than our complete focus and attention if we are to gain any points.

“The pressure is on us to maintain our standards and levels of performance. We have put ourselves in a good position to challenge for the league but it remains a tight competition and there's a long way to go.”

Gala and Melrose are on the road tomorrow, against Aberdeen Grammar (kick-off 2pm) and Glasgow Hawks (kick-off 2.30pm) respectively, as they look to make advances back to the top of the RBS Premiership, while Heriot’s who are also still in contention for the title, welcome Stirling County to Goldenacre (kick-off 2pm).

On form George Turner will move from his usual hooking position this weekend to play on the Heriot’s flank.

Finally, Hawick are at Mansfield Park where they play Edinburgh Accies (kick-off 3pm).

Players from the pro-game selected this weekend are Tom Brown, Stuart McInally (both Currie), Kevin Bryce (Heriot’s), Nikki Walker, Rob McAlpine (both Hawick), Scott Wight, Leone Nakawara (both Glasgow Hawks), Lee Jones (Edinburgh Accies), Lewis Niven (Melrose), Fraser Brown (Aberdeen Grammar), Tom Ryder and Richie Vernon (both Stirling County).


Heriot’s v Stirling County, Goldenacre, 2pm 

Heriot’s team: Colin Goudie; Max Learmonth, Keith Buchan, Cameron Ferguson, Liam Steele; Rory Carmichael, Graham Wilson; Craig Owenson, Kevin Bryce, Nathan Borel, Murray Douglas, Russell Nimmo, George Turner, Alex Henderson and Jack Turley.
Replacements: Gavin Cameron, Jason Hill, Chris Mulligan, OJ Brown and Harry Boisseau. 

Stirling County team: Ben Addison; Graham Lindsay, Danny Gilmour, Brian Archibald, Matt Lamb; Fraser Lyle, A J McFarlane; Kris Burney, Alex Moffat, Colin Hutton, Craig Deacons, Tom Ryder, Struan Robertson, Shaun McDonald and Jamie Swanson.
Replacements: Reyner Kennedy, Jamie Bhatti, Will Bordill, Richie Vernon and Stuart Edwards.

Referee: James McPhail


Aberdeen Grammar v Gala, Rubislaw, 2pm 

Aberdeen Grammar team: Stevie Aitken; Erland Oag, Peceli Nacamavuto, Harry Duthie (captain), Grant Walker; Sam Knudson, Luke Earle-Wright; Matt Dixon, Sam Bingham, Struan Cessford, Andy Cramond, Jamie Metcalfe, Sandy Warnock, Tony McGuiness and Tom Preece.
Replacements: Fraser Brown, Matt Schosser, Stuart Smith, Will Wardlaw and Morgan Ward.

Gala team: TBC
Replacements: TBC 

Referee: Gary Gordon


Glasgow Hawks v Melrose, Old Anniesland, 2.30pm

Glasgow Hawks team: James Gormley; Gavin Lowe, Robert Beattie, Jack Steele, Haddon McPherson; Scott Wight, Dan Smart; Steven Findlay, Jack McFarlane, Brendan Cullinane, Andy Linton, Angus Hamilton, Andy Kirkland, Steven Leckie and Ross Miller (captain).
Replacements: Callum Kerr, Craig Bachurzewski, Leone Nakawara, Andy White and David Milne. 

Melrose team: Fraser Thomson (captain); Damien Hoyland, Blair Hutchison, Joe Helps, Austin Lockington; Richard Mill, Tom Wilson; Nicky Little, Richard Ferguson, Lewis Niven, James Head, Ross Ovens, Peter Eccles, Andrew Nagle and Graeme Dodds.
Replacements:  Todd Pearce, Gary Holborn, Grant Runciman, Bruce Colvine and Andrew Skeen.

Referee: Neil Paterson


Currie v Ayr, Malleny Park, 3pm 

Currie team: Tom Brown; Harvey Elms, Ethan Pollock, Adam Alexander, Ruaraidh Smith; George Horne, Richard Snedden; John Cox, David Cherry, Alastair Hamilton, Gary Temple, Petre Neacsu, Mike Vernal, Karl Main and Ross Weston.
Replacements: Stuart McInally, Graeme Carson, Charlie McLean, Iain Vance and Alex Penman. 

Ayr team: Grant Anderson (captain); Richard Dalgleish, Ross Curle, Dean Kelbrick, Kerr Gossman; Finn Russell, Peter Jericevich; George Hunter, Stuart Fenwick, Nick Cox, Ben Cogley, Scott Sutherland, Peter McCallum, Andrew Dunlop and Graham Fisken.
Replacements: Fergus Scott, Denford Mutamangira, James Eddie, Murray McConnell and Robbie Fergusson.

Referee: Peter Allan


Hawick v Edinburgh Accies, Mansfield Park, 3pm

Hawick team: Neil Renwick; Nikki Walker, John Coutts, Gary Johnstone, Scott McLeod; Lee Armstrong, Greg Cottrell (captain); Shawn Muir, Ross Graham, Wullie Blacklock, Rob McAlpine, Kieran Willison, Nick McTaggart, Rory Scott and Bruce McNeil.
Replacements: Hue Scammell, Liam Launders, Stuart Graham, Jake Evans and Ali Weir.

Edinburgh Accies team: Jamie Sole; Lee Jones, Ewan Campbell, Iain Berthinussen, Nyle Godsmark; Ruaridh Bonner, Alex Black; Duncan Morrison, Michael Liness, Shaun Strudwick, Greg Campbell (captain), Jamie McCarthy, Robin Snape, Hamish Watson and Callum Reid.
Replacements: Phil Cringle, Fraser Rawlinson, Ronan Seydak, Ryan Godsmark and Matt Coupar. 

Referee: David Proctor (RFU)