Scotland line-up confirmed

The Scotland team and substitutes for Saturday’s viagogo Autumn Test against Australia have now been finalised.

Tommy Seymour (pictured below), the 25-year-old Glasgow Warriors winger, who marked his Murrayfield international debut with a brace of tries against Japan, has recovered from a leg injury sustained last weekend and will start in the No 14 shirt.

The only change to the back division that started against South Africa sees Duncan Weir preferred to his Warriors team-mate Ruaridh Jackson at stand-off.  Weir will be winning his eighth cap.


On the bench Max Evans’ experience and ability to cover both centre and wing have won him the outside back berth although Glasgow Warriors’ Mark Bennett, the uncapped centre who played for Scotland under-20 in the IRB Junior World Championship during the summer, remains with the squad at this juncture.

Scotland head coach Scott Johnson said: “The injuries we’ve experienced with four of our frontline backs sidelined during this series – Stuart Hogg, Tim Visser, Alex Dunbar and Matt Scott – have meant that we’ve had to think long and hard about combinations and our bench this weekend.”

Tickets are still available for Saturday’s match from this website; via the 24 hour credit card hotline 0844 335 3933; or in person from the Scottish Rugby Ticket Centre at Murrayfield, which is open from 9am-8pm until Friday. Tickets are also available on the day but supporters can save money by buying in advance.

Scotland team (sponsor RBS) to play Australia in the viagogo Autumn Test at Murrayfield on Saturday 23 November, kick-off 6pm

15 Sean Maitland (Glasgow Warriors) 7 caps, 1 try, 5 points

14 Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) 4 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
13 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh Rugby) 40 caps, 1 try, 5 points
12 Duncan Taylor (Saracens) 5 caps
11 Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors) 81 caps, 12 tries, 60 points

10 Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors) 7 caps, 1 try, 2 conversions, 9 points
9 Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby) 23 caps, 3 tries, 23 conversions, 49 penalties, 208 points

1 Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors) 12 caps
2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby) 70 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
3 Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors) 22 caps
4 Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) 3 caps
5 Jim Hamilton (Montpellier) 49 caps, 1 try, 5 points
6 Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier) 25 caps, 3 tries, 15 points
7 Kelly Brown (Saracens) 59 caps, 4 tries, 20 points CAPTAIN
8 David Denton (Edinburgh Rugby) 16 caps

16 Pat MacArthur (Glasgow Warriors) 2 caps
17 Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby) 29 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
18 Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors) 57 caps, 2 tries, 10 points
19 Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 1 cap
20 Kieran Low (London Irish) uncapped
21 Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors) 63 caps, 3 tries, 15 points
22 Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors) 23 caps, 3 conversions, 2 penalties, 2 drop-goals 18 points
23 Max Evans (Castres) 36 caps, 3 tries, 15 points