Basement Battle at Bridgehaugh

This Saturday will see ninth place Stirling County tackle Aberdeen Grammar, who sit directly above them on the greener side of the relegation fence in a 3pm kick-off.

After picking up a losing bonus point in an agonising 30-31 defeat to Edinburgh Accies last Saturday, a win at home this weekend could see County escape the relegation zone and overtake their visitors, who currently lie in the marginal safety of eighth place.


Reyner Kennedy on the attack for Stirling County

On the contrary, a win for Aberdeen Grammar could move them eight points clear of County creating a reasonable gap between themselves and the Bridgehaugh club in the red zone.

Stirling County coach Graeme Young, said:

“We were heartbroken last week when ill-discipline in the second half cost us the game, despite being in a strong position for much of the match.

 “We know that Aberdeen will be a tough encounter, especially with the match holding so much importance for both teams.

“We’re not deterred by this though and are eager to keep gathering league points in our fight for safety.”

In other RBS Premiership ties league leaders Gala, sitting six points clear at the top, host Glasgow Hawks in their first defence of the Bill McLaren Shield at Netherdale (3pm kick-off).

 In the chasing pack, second place Melrose will host Hawick in a border derby at The Greenyards (2pm kick-off), as third place Heriot's travel west to Millbrae to meet fourth place Ayr (3pm kick-off).

Lastly, Currie lying at the foot of the table make the short trip to Raeburn Place playing Edinburgh Accies in a capital clash (2pm kick-off).

Professional players turning out for club sides this week: Rory Hughes (Stirling County), Kevin Bryce, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (both Heriot’s), Stuart McInally (Currie), Nicky Walker (Hawick), Grayson Hart (Gala) and Scott Wight (Glasgow Hawks).

Stirling County v Aberdeen Grammar Rugby, Bridgehaugh , 3pm

Stirling team: Ben Addison; Graham Lindsay, Danny Gilmour, Brian Archibald, Rory Hughes; Fraser Lyle, Andy Watt; Kris Burney, Alex Moffat, Colin Hutton, Craig Deacons, Matt Larsen, Struan Robertson, Will Bordill and Jamie Swanson.

Replacements: Reyner Kennedy, Jamie Bhatti, Shaun McDonald, Ruaridh Leishman and Stuart Edwards.

Aberdeen Grammar team: Stevie Aitken; Erland Oag, Harry Duthie, Greig Ryan (captain), Grant Walker; Sam Knudson, Luke Earle-Wright; Matt Dixon, Sam Bingham, Struan Cessford, Andy Cramond, Jamie Metcalfe, Stuart Smith, Tony McGinness and Tom Preece.

Replacements: Sean O’Connor, Matt Schosser, Calum Gordon, Mark Ryan and Morgan Ward.

Referee: Peter Allan

Ayr v Heriot’s, Millbrae, 3pm

Ayr team: Grant Anderson (captain); Craig Gossman, Ross Curle, Robbie Fergusson, Kerr Gossman; Finn Russell, Murray McConnell; Nick Cox, Fergus Scott, D’Arcy Rae, Peter McCallum, Scott Sutherland, Callum Templeton, Andrew Dunlop and Graham Fisken.

Replacements: David Young, George Hunter, Graham Williamson, Peter Jericevich and Richard Dalgleish.

Heriot’s team: Colin Goudie; Max Nimmo, Keith Buchan, Cameron Ferguson, Liam Steele; Rory Carmichael, Graham Wilson; Craig Owenson, George Turner, Gavin Cameron, Murray Douglas, Russell Nimmo, Joe Coru, Alex Henderson and Jack Turley (captain).

Replacements: Kevin Bryce, Nathan Borel, Chris Mulligan, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne and Harry Boisseau.

Referee: David Changleng

Edinburgh Accies v Currie, Raeburn Place, 2pm

Edinburgh Accies team: Jamie Sole; Nyle Godsmark, Ewen Campbell, Iain Berthinussen, Matt Coupar; Ruaridh Bonner, Alex Black; Phil Cringle, Michael Liness, Shaun Strudwick, Greg Campbell (captain), Jamie McCarthy, Neil Aitken, Hamish Watson and Callum Reid.

Replacements: Fraser Rawlinson, Jonny McSorley, Ronan Seydak, Mike Campbell and Jamie Farndale.

Currie team: James Semple; Harvey Elms, Ethan Pollock, Adam Alexander, Ruaridh Smith; George Horne, Richard Snedden; John Cox, David Cherry, Alastair Hamilton, Gary Temple, Petre Neacsu, Mike Vernal, Mark Cairns and Ross Weston

Replacements: Stuart McInally, Fraser Watts, Charlie McLean, Karl Main and Malcolm Peacock.

Referee: Neil Paterson

Melrose v Hawick, Greenyards, 2pm

Melrose team: Fraser Thomson (captain); Damien Hoyland, Blair Hutchison, Joe Helps, Austin Lockington; Richard Mill, Bruce Colvine; Nicky Little, Richard Ferguson, Lewis Niven, Ross Ovens, James Head, Peter Eccles, Grant Runciman and Andrew Nagle.

Replacements: Todd Pearce, Gary Holborn, Ruairi Knott, Andrew Skeen and Callum Anderson.

Hawick team: Neil Renwick; Nicky Walker, John Coutts, Scott McLeod, Neil McColm; Lee Armstrong, Jake Evens; Shawn Muir, Lindsey Gibson, Wullie Blacklock, Rob McAlpine, Kieran Wilson, Nick McTaggart, Keith Davies (captain) and Bruce McNeil.

Replacements: Ross Graham, Liam Launders, Stuart Graham, Bruce Campbell and Rory Scott.

Referee: Gary Gordon

Gala v Glasgow Hawks, Netherdale, 3pm

Gala team: Andy McLean; Gerald Sibanda, Chris Auld, Ewan Scott; David O’Hagan, Grayson Hart; Rory Sutherland, Callum Mackintosh, Ewan Johnstone, Craig Borthwick, Opeta Palepoi, Gary Graham, Scott Chapman and Stevie Cairns.

Replacements: Lewis Bertram, Richard Todd, Chris Mein, Gregor Mein and Craig Robertson.

Glasgow Hawks team: Andy White; Gavin Lowe, Robert Beattie, Jack Steele, Haddon McPherson; Scott Wight, Sean Yacoubian; Steven Findlay, Finlay Gillies, Brendan Cullinane, Andy Linton (captain), Angus Hamilton, Matuesz Bartoszek, Steven Leckie and Andy Kirkland.

Replacements: Jack McFarlane, John Lohoar, Ross Miller, Dan Smart and Davie Milne.

Referee: Lloyd Linton