RBS Premiership teams aim to end year on a high

The last round of RBS Premiership fixtures in 2013 will take place tomorrow as all teams look to end their year in a strong position.

Melrose and Heriot’s lead the charge with ties against Edinburgh Accies and Currie at The Greenyards and Goldenacre, respectively at 2pm.

Also at 2pm Glasgow Hawks and Stirling County meet at Glasgow Accies' ground, New Anniesland, before Hawick and Ayr round off the weekend’s fixtures with 3pm kick-offs at Mansfield Park and Millbrae against Gala and Aberdeen Grammar, respectively.

No matter the outcome of tomorrow’s fixtures Gala will end the year at the top of the table, currently with a six-point advantage over Melrose in second place.

Gala head coach, George Graham, said: “It’s good to get back to league action after a hectic two weeks in the British & Irish Cup.

We finally have some of our key players back in contention for tomorrow’s match v Hawick. This game will be like any other against our Border rivals, a no-holds-barred, blood and guts affair. It should be a great game.”

If Melrose, Heriot’s and Ayr post victories tomorrow, things will be very close at the summit of the league at the turn of the year.

Heriot’s head coach, Phil Smith, said: “After a couple of weeks of Cup action it will be good to get back to the intensity of the Premiership. Currie are now building momentum, therefore it will be key for us to start well and be prepared for an 80-minutes battle as both teams will be desperate for a win, to end the year.

“We’re delighted to be able to give Sam [Hidalgo-Clyne], Sean [Kennedy] and Michael [Maltman] an opportunity to pick up some game time.”

Turning out from the professional teams this weekend are Stuart McInally (Currie), Maltman, Kennedy (both Heriot’s), Richie Vernon (Stirling County), Finlay Gillies, Scott Wight (both Glasgow Hawks), Nikki Walker, Rob McAlpine(both Hawick), Lewis Niven (Melrose) and James Hilterbrand (Gala).


Melrose v Edinburgh Accies, The Greenyards, 2pm 

Melrose team: Fraser Thomson (captain); Damien Hoyland, Alan Dodds, Joe Helps, Austin Lockington; Richard Mill, Bruce Colvine; Nicky Little, Richard Ferguson, Gary Holborn, Lewis Carmichael, James Head, Peter Eccles, Grant Runciman and Andrew Nagle.
Replacements: Todd Pearce, Lewis Niven, Ross Miller, Andrew Skeen and Callum Anderson. 

Edinburgh Accies team: TBC
Replacements: TBC 

Referee: Cammy Rudkin


Heriot’s v Currie, Goldenacre, 2pm 

Heriot’s team: Sam Hidalgo-Clyne; Max Nimmo, Keith Buchan, Rory Carmichael, Colin Goudie; Graham Wilson, Sean Kennedy; Nathan Borel, George Turner, Gavin Cameron, Murray Douglas, Russell Nimmo, Michael Maltman, Alex Henderson and Jack Turley (captain).
Replacements: Stewart Mustard, Chris Mulligan, Ben Tullis, Jamie Syme and Harry Boisseau. 

Currie team: George Horne; Harvey Elms, Ruaridh Smith, Adam Alexander, Ethan Pollock; James Semple, Richard Snedden; John Cox, David Cherry, Alastair Hamilton, Gary Temple, Petre Neacsu, Mike Vernal, Mark Cairns (captain) and Ross Weston.
Replacements: Stuart McInally, Graeme Carson, Charlie McLean, Karl Main and Malcolm Peacock. 

Referee: James Matthew


Glasgow Hawks v Stirling County, New Anniesland, 2pm 

Glasgow Hawks team: James Gormley; Haddon McPherson, Neil Herron, Jack Steele, Gavin Lowe; Scott Wight, Sean Yacoubian; Steven Findlay, Finlay Gillies, Brendan Cullinane, Andy Linton, Chris McGeogh, Andy Redmayne, Andy Kirkland and Ross Miller (captain).
Replacements: Callum Kerr, John Lohoar, Stephen Leckie, Dan Smart and Andy White.

Stirling County team: Brian Archibald; Graham Lindsay, Richie Vernon, Danny Gilmour, Matt Lamb; Stuart Edwards, AJ McFarlane or Andy Watt; Jamie Bhatti, Alex Moffat, Colin Hutton, Ruaridh Leishman, Craig Deacons, Struan Robertson, Shaun McDonald and Adam Ashe.
Replacements: Kris Burney, Reyner Kennedy, Jamie Swanson, Steve Swindall and Fraser Lyle. 

Referee: Sam Grove-White


Hawick v Gala, Mansfield Park, 3pm 

Hawick team: Neil Renwick; Scott McLeod, John Coutts, Gary Johnstone, Nikki Walker; Lee Armstrong, Greg Cottrell; Liam Launders, Lindsey Gibson, Wullie Blacklock, Rob McAlpine, Kieran Willison, Nick Mctaggart, Keith Davis and Bruce McNeil.
Replacements: Ross Graham, Matt Landels, Stuart Graham, Jake Evans and Neil McColm.

Gala team: Andy McLean; Graeme Speirs, Chris Auld, Ewan Scott, Grant Sommerville; David O’Hagan, George Graham (captain); Rory Sutherland, Callum MacKintosh, James Hilterbrand, Craig Borthwick, Opeta Palepoi, Gary Graham, Scot Chapman and Stevie Cairns.
Replacements: Lewis Bertram, Josh Irvine, Fraser Hunter, Gregor Mein and Craig Dods.

Referee: Graeme Wells 


Ayr v Aberdeen Grammar, Millbrae, 3pm

Ayr team: Grant Anderson (captain); Richard Dalgleish, Robbie Fergussson, Dean Kelbrick, Kerr Gossman; Ross Curle, Murray McConnell; George Hunter, Fergus Scott, D’arcy Rae, Callum Templeton, Scott Sutherland, Graham Fisken, Andrew Dunlop and Peter McCallum.

Replacements: James Malcolm, Nick Cox, Graham Williamson, Peter Jericevich and Craig Gossman.

Aberdeen Grammar team: TBC
Replacements: TBC

Referee: Andrew McMenemy