Brilliant rugby exhibited in Bowl finals

The final between Boroughmuir and West of Scotland saw the capital side lifting the National Youth under-16 Bowl after a tough game which ended 15-12. 

Coming back from being down five points to nil at half-time, Boroughmuir broke the stalemate with two tries and a last-minute penalty which saw them win the game.

Boroughmuir's Sam Yawayawa on the attack

Boroughmuir head coach, Peter Wood said: “I’m delighted for the boys. They went from winning nothing last year to lifting the National Bowl and they beat some good teams to get here.

“I thought the game was very even from start to finish and it came down to a few chances for both sides and we took one extra chance in that last penalty.

“I think both teams played extremely well and it was a very clean game, which is good to see in Scottish rugby."

Try scorers for West of Scotland were winger Connor Gerrard and number-eight Ryan Sweeney, with a conversion from stand-off Dru Nicholson and scorers for Boroughmuir were prop Struan Maidment and back-row Callum Keane, with a conversion and a penalty from fly-half and man of the match, Kelvin Chen.

Dumfries win under-18 Bowl

A similarly close affair saw Dumfries lift the National Youth under-18 Bowl after a 22-5 win over Hawick Wanderers.

Wanderers were in the game throughout the entire 80 minutes but failed to convert their efforts into points in the second half.

Dumfries head coach, Rab McHenry said:

“I thought we were nervous to start with, but once we got into the game, we bossed it.

“Our strengths are in the forwards, especially with the pick and drive, which we used well today. “

The try scorer for Hawick Wanderers was full-back Darcy Graham and try scorers for Dumfries were lock Lee Scott, prop Scott Goodwin and replacement Chris White, with two conversions and a penalty from lock James Clyde.

Boroughmuir v West of Scotland, National Youth under-16 Bowl

Boroughmuir team: Aaron Gilfillan; Stephen Pearson, Sam Yawayawa, Andrew Terry, Simon Orr; David Robertson, Callum Costello; Struan Maidment, Jack Robertson, Abdel Bilal, Jacob Beckmann, James Grant, Michael Luff, Callum Keane and Magnus Finlayson.

Replacements: Calum Hare, Ross McAndrew, Ewan Lancashire and Kelvin Chen.

West of Scotland team: Nicky O’Brien; Fraser Brand, Aaron Purewal, Nicky Sutcliffe, Connor Gerrard; Dru Nicholson, Harry Brewster; Michael Crabbe, Reece Williams, William McKenzie, Euan Nicholls, Xander Brown, Euan Anderson, Craig McCall and Ryan Sweeney.

Replacements: Donald Morrison, Robert Ballantyne, Euan Burns, Ross Wood, Andrew Holdstock, Murray Drover and Sam Daniel.

Man of the Match: Kelvin Chen

Dumfries v Hawick Wanderers, National Youth under-18 Bowl

Dumfries team: Scott Kerr; Sean MacDougal, Alex Craig, Gavin Howatson, Ross Hunter; Robert Dodd, Harry Houlday; Jack McHenry, Cameron Taylor, Scott Goodwin, Lee Scott, James Clyde, Kyle Lindsay, Owen Young and Ryan Cruikshank.

Replacements: Callum Jackson, Edward Jackson, Lewis Morrison, Nathan Hogg, Declan O’Donnell, Euan McMorran, Ryan Arthur and Chris White.

Hawick Wanderers team: Darcy Graham; Sean Chapman, Grant Huggan, Jordan Hyslop, Ryan Elliot; Dean Gillian, Deaglan Lightfoot; Robbie Linton, Fraser Renwick, Aiden Fairbairn, Dalton Redpath, John Gray, Matthew Mallin, Robbie McLean, Andrew Baillie.

Replacements: Gareth Renwick, Reece Hartegan, William Ballantyne, Euan Robson, Jack Watson, Craig Glendinning and Rian Taylor.

Man of the Match: Ryan Cruickshank