Taylor and Horne join up for Italian encounter

At the halfway point in their 6 Nations campaign, Scotland's under-20 players travel to northern Italy today to prepare for their third match of the championship on Friday 21 February (kick-off 6pm GMT, 7pm local).

Looking for their first win, after defeats to Ireland and England, the Scots prepare to meet their Italian counterparts with four changes to the starting XV who took on the English at Netherdale earlier this month.

Try-scorer against England, Chris Dean, and Neil Herron return to Scotland 7s to prepare for the tournaments in Japan and Hong Kong, while last season's Scotland under-18 captain, Richard Taylor, comes in at centre. Moving from the bench to the starting line-up are scrum half Murdo McAndrew, prop Phil Cringle and flanker Lewis Carmichael at blindside. Buchan Richardson and Ben Vellacott take their place in the replacements, joined by stand-off George Horne.
Head coach Sean Lineen said: "At 10 - an area where we've not had a lot of strength in depth - we've got Ben Chalmers and now George Horne is back. They're both young, are great guys to work with and have another year at 20s so there's a lot of room for them to develop.

 "There was certainly an improvement in our performance against England and we're looking for more in what will be a tough game against very passionate Italians. I have every confidence in our boys, they're learning all the time and it's great to see their enthusiasm and commitment. There's a lot more to come from these lads." 

Scotland under-20 team to take on Italy under-20, Friday 21 February, Stadio Omero Tognon, Pordenone, Fruili-Venezia Giulia kick-off 6pm (GMT), 7pm (local)
15 Ruairidh Young (Edinburgh Accies)
14 Jamie Farndale (Edinburgh Accies/Edinburgh Rugby) **
13 Blair Hutchison (Loughborough/Melrose)
12 Richard Taylor (Melrose/Loretto School) *
11 Damien Hoyland (Melrose) *
10 Ben Chalmers (Melrose)
9 Murdo McAndrew (Clermont Auvergne)
1 Jack Cosgrove (Worcester Warriors)
2 Sam James (London Wasps)
3 Philip Cringle (Edinburgh Accies/Edinburgh Rugby) **
4 Andrew Cramond (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby)
5 Glen Young (Newcastle Falcons)
6 Lewis Carmichael (Melrose) *
7 Tommy Spinks (London Scottish) CAPTAIN
8 Magnus Bradbury (Boroughmuir/Edinburgh Rugby) **
16 James Malcolm (Ayr) *
17 D’arcy Rae (Ayr/Glasgow Warriors) **
18 Chris Barnes (Glasgow Hawks) *
19 Buchan Richardson (London Scottish)
20 Gabriel Carroll (Loughborough University)
21 Ben Vellacott (Worcester Warriors/Hartpury)
22 George Horne (Currie)
23 Sam Pecqueur (Edinburgh Accies) **
* member of Scottish Rugby’s Regional Academy supported by sportscotland Institute of Sport
** Elite Development Player 2013/14