Season defining ties in RBS Cup and Premiership

Two of last-week’s scheduled RBS Cup quarter-final ties succumbed to the conditions and are due to be played this Saturday (22 February) as a result.

The west-coast derby between Ayr and Glasgow Hawks will now be staged at the neutral venue of Lochinch, where the teams will play on the 3G all-weather pitch, minimising the chances of another postponement.Ayr's Callum Templeton attacks the line

The game was originally rescheduled for tonight (Friday) yet with the change of venue will now be played at 11.30am tomorrow (Saturday). Also at Lochinch, Cartha Queens Park will play Falkirk in Championship A’s top of the table clash (2pm), making for a great day of rugby at Pollok Park.

Ayr head coach Peter Laverie, said:

This will be a tight and keenly-fought affair between two-sides who are more than familiar with each other. 

"The players will relish the chance to express themselves on the fast Lochinch surface, which will make for a high-tempo and open game."

Edinburgh Accies will compete against Aberdeen Grammar at Murrayfield, where the sides will play on the 3G surface on the back pitches for the final RBS Cup semi-final spot (4pm). 

Edinburgh Accies and Aberdeen Grammar have faced-off twice already this year, the capital side coming out on top in both games.

Mansfield Park will host the only RBS Premiership game this weekend, as Hawick welcome their Border rivals, Gala (3.30pm).  It will be the third time lucky for this fixture if it goes ahead, having been a victim of the weather twice already this season.

Gala head coach George Graham, said: “Being a traditional Border derby, every game against Hawick is a huge occasion for us.

“The importance of the game is heightened by the need for the teams to gain league points, both for very different reasons with the clubs sitting at opposite ends of the table.

The conditions may limit the type of game that can be played, but this will by no means be a dull affair. I’m sure the weather certainly won’t dampen the spirits of the ever passionate supporters.”

Professional players turning out for club sides this week are; Alex Toolis, Hamish Watson (both Edinburgh Accies), Nikki Walker, James Johnstone and Rob McAlpine (all Hawick).

Ayr v Glasgow Hawks, RBS Cup quarter-final, Lochinch 3G pitch, Pollok Park, 11.30am

Ayr team: Grant Anderson; Craig Gossman, Robbie Fergusson, Dean Kelbrick, Kerr Gossman; Ross Curle, Murrray McConnell; George Hunter, Fergus Scott, Nick Cox, Craig Brown, Scott Sutherland, Callum Templeton, Graham Fisken and Peter McCallum.

Replacements: David Young, Denford Mutamangira, Stewart Walker, Peter Jericevich and Danny McCluskey.

Glasgow Hawks team: TBC

Replacements: TBC

Referee: David Changleng

Edinburgh Accies v Aberdeen Grammar, RBS Cup quarter-final, Raeburn Place, 3pm

Edinburgh Accies team: Jamie Sole; Nyle Godsmark, Ewen Campbell, Iain Berthunussen (captain), Chris Dean; Ruairidh Bonner, Alex Black; Duncan Morrison, Michael Liness, Shaun Strudwick, Jamie McCarthy, Alex Toolis, Robin Snape, Hamish Watson and Callum Reid.

Replacements: Callum Black, Clem Lacqor, Greg Campbell, Ronan Seydak, Jack Marples and Alex Glashan.

Aberdeen team: Stevie Aitken; Erlend Oag, Harry Duthie, Greig Ryan (captain), Will Wardlaw; Rob Aloe, Morgan Ward; Matt Schosser, Sam Bingham, Struan Cessford, Stuart Smith, Jamie Metcalfe, Ally Mackie, Tony McGinness and Tom Preece.

Replacements: Matt Dixon, Sean O’Connor, Mathew Emmison, Sam Knudson, Jamie Lauder and Calum Gordon.

Referee: Peter Allan

Hawick v Gala, RBS Premiership, Mansfield Park, 3.30pm

Hawick team: Lee Armstrong; Nikki Walker, James Johnstone, Gary Johnstone, Neil Renwick; Rory Hutton, Greg Cottrell (captain); Shawn Muir, Ross Graham, Wullie Blacklock, Rob McAlpine, Bruce McNeil, Stuart Graham, Rory Scott and Keith Davies.

Replacement: Lindsay Gibson, Liam Launders, Nick Mactaggart, Jake Evens and Scott McLeod.

Gala team: Andy McLean; Gerald Sibanda, Chris Auld, Ewan Scott, Grant Somerville; David O’Hagan, George Graham (captain); Rory Sutherland, Callum MacIntosh, Ewan Johnstone, Craig Borthwick, Opeta Palepoi, Gary Graham, Stevie Cairns and Ewan Dods.

Replacements: Lewis Bertram, Craig Hogg, Chris Weir, Graeme Speirs and Gregor Mein.

Referee: James Matthew