Caley win thriller as Glasgow bounce back

The second round of the under-16 regional clashes kicked-off in spectacular fashion last night as Caledonia beat Edinburgh, 28-27, and Glasgow beat the Borders, 33-7.  Caledonia were thus unbeaten over the two weeks of competition, while Glasgow bounced back from a loss in the opening week.

The first match of the evening proved to be the more eventful of the two. Half-time saw Caledonia up 21-10 through high-tempo play and clever use of a wind advantage. However Edinburgh came at them hard in the second half, scoring four tries to Caledonia’s one.Caledonia triumphant

Caledonia Regional Academy coach, Colin Philips said: "It was a quality game with great performances from both teams. It was a good standard of rugby and a good learning curve for all players involved.”

Try scorers for Caledonia were Mark New (Mackie) with two, Gregor Haldane (Dollar Academy) and Matthew Fagerson (Strathallan School) with stand-off Haldane slotting all four conversions. Try scorers for Edinburgh were Ross McCann (Royal High Corstorphine), Andrew Horne (Preston Lodge), Kelvin Chen (Boroughmuir), Ross Dunbar (Linlithgow) and Fergus Haig (Heriot’s) with Benn Morris (Merchiston Castle School) converting one.

The second match saw the Borders struggling against Glasgow, despite a highly physical and well organised display, though a more spirited effort in the second half saw them leave the pitch with their heads held high.

Glasgow coach, Rory Couper, said:

We had a much more solid performance this week with a much higher tempo, and it showed when we scored four really good tries.”

Try scorers for Glasgow were Gregor Paxton (Ayr), Ryan Sweeney (West of Scotland), Stafford McDowell (Stewartry), Scott Derrick (GHA) and Lloyd Clark (Moffat) with McDowell landing four conversions. The try scorer for the Borders was Gary Munro (Jed Thistle) with a conversion from Robbie Yourston (Jed Thistle).

 The next phase in the under-16 Pathway Programme is the under-16 national trial at Lochinch on Sunday 16 March.

From there, those selected will go head-to-head against Newcastle Falcons on Sunday 30 March and will go on to compete in the Wellington Festival, which begins on Friday 11 April and concludes on Sunday 20 April.


Edinburgh team: Ross McCann (Royal High Corstorphine); Jack Paterson (Currie RFC), Kelvin Chen (Boroughmuir RFC), Nick Peters (Edinburgh Academy), Sam Yawayawa (Boroughmuir RFC); Benn Morris (Merchiston Castle School), Charlie Shiel (Royal High School RFC); Ross Dunbar (Linlithgow RFC), Calum Harris (George Watson’s College), Ewan Malloch (George Watson’s College), Hamish Bain (Portobello RFC), Andrew Horne (Preston Lodge RFC), Kenneth Drummond (George Watson’s College), Camran Ferrier (Fettes College) and Campbell Duns (North Berwick RFC).

Replacements: Cameron Watson (Currie RFC), Calum Eastwood (George Watson’s College), Finlay Richardson (Merchiston Castle School), Iain Steven (George Heriot’s School), Fergus Haig (Heriots RFC), Murray Scott (George Watson’s College), Roddy Main( North Berwick HS) and Alex MacKay (North Berwick HS).

Caledonia team: Ben Eynon (Perthshire RFC); Jack Bruce (Strathallan School), Mark New (Mackie RFC), Ewan Fox (High School of Dundee), Paul Paxton (Gordons School Huntly); Gregor Haldane (Dollar Academy), Kaleem Barreto (Perthshire RFC); Charlie Cass (Highland RFC), Rehan Baig (Dundee Eagles RFC), Keir Hail-Brown (Stirling County RFC), Euan Milton (Highland RFC), Lachlan Menzies (Perthshire RFC), Sean Gauld (Dundee Eagles RFC), Paul Kidd (High School of Dundee) and Matt Fagerson (Strathallan School).

Replacements: Lewis McLean (Dundee Eagles RFC), Murdo Sinclair (Howe of Fife RFC), Johny Grant (Highland RFC), Murray Anderson (Stirling RFC), Cameron Gray (Orkney RFC), Callum Addy (Ellon RFC), Ruaraidh Leader (Perthshire RFC) and Ruairi Lukins (Robert Gordons College).

Borders team: Buster Davidson (Peebles RFC); Calum Young (Jed Thistle RFC) Robbie Chalmers (Melrose RFC), Robbie Yourston (Jed Thistle RFC), Logan Gordon-Wolley (Hawick Albion RFC); Kyle Brunton (Hawick Albion RFC), Gary Munro (Jed Thistle RFC); Calum Braid (Langholm RFC), Tom Smith (Gala Red Triangle), Gary Clarkson (Jed Thistle RFC), Murray Renwick (Hawick Albion), Damon Little (Langholm RFC), Andrew Forrest (Berwick RFC), Conall Howard (Melrose RFC) and Ewan Jackson (Peebles RFC).

Replacements: Finlay Scott (Jed Thistle RFC), Nathan Smith (Langholm RFC), Jack Scott (Hawick Albion RFC), Kieran Slingsby (Jed Thistle RFC), John Feeney (Jed Thistle RFC), Nick Stingl (Kelso RFC), James Montgomery (Melrose RFC) and Patrick Anderson (Duns RFC).

Glasgow team: Aaron Tait (Ayr RFC); Aaron Purewal (West of Scotland RFC), Gregor Paxton (Ayr RFC), Charlie Lonerghan (St Aloysius’ College), Scott Derrick (GHA RFC); Stafford McDowell (Stewartry RFC), Michael Manning (Ayr RFC); Paul Cairncross (East Kilbride RFC), Graham Allan (St Columbas College), Ryan Dunlop (Ayr RFC), Kyle Wood (Marr Rugby), Ryan Sweeney (West of Scotland RFC), Ross Jackson (Biggar RFC), Craig McCall (West of Scotland) and Lloyd Clark (Moffat RFC).

Replacements: Luis Barron (Whitecraigs RFC), Michael Scott (St Aloysius’ College), Kyle McNulty (Ardrossan Academicals RFC), Cameron Gilchrist (Moffat RFC), Lewis Young (Stewartry RFC), Peter Burns (Lenzie RFC) and Mark Conlan (Ayr RFC).