Five changes made to face France

Five changes have been made to the Scotland Women squad ahead of their game against France on Sunday (9 March) at Hawthornden, Lasswade.

Tanya Griffith in action

Scotland head coach, Jules Maxton, has introduced a half-back combination who have not been paired together in the starting XV for this year’s Six Nations campaign. Sarah Law will make her second start in the campaign at scrum-half, as Tanya Griffith, will wear the ten shirt following a good performance off the bench in Italy. As a result, Louise Dalgliesh and Lisa Martin will be on the bench.

Griffith told “Although we’ve not managed to record a win this year, there’s a lot of positives we can take from our games.

“We just need to stay focussed and get our mentality right. We’re sometimes guilty of putting our heads down instead of concentrating on the game.

“We know France will be tough, but there’s a sense of genuine belief and excitement in the camp that we can get a win this weekend, especially following a strong second-half performance against Italy.”

Evergreen prop, Heather Lockhart, will win her 70th cap as she takes to the pitch to play France.

Griffith, continued: “Heather, is someone all the squad look up to, she’s an influential figure among us. Every time she wears the jersey, Heather, gives everything she can and plays with real passion, which is something we all aspire to.”

Maxton, has only made one change to the starting pack as Jade Konkel, is promoted from the bench to start in the back-row in place of Anna Stodter, who will not feature in the squad to play France.

Megan Gaffney is reinstated into the squad, as her Hillhead-Jordanhill team-mate, Sarah Smith, joins her on the bench in the place of Emily Irving.

To view the full interview with Tanya Griffith, visit or click here

Scotland team:

15. Steph Johnston (Worcester)


14. Annabel Sergeant (Richmond)

13. Gillian Inglis (Melrose)

12. Laura Steven (Murrayfield Wanderers)

11. Katy Green (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)


10. Tanya Griffith (RHC Cougars)

9. Sarah Law (Murrayfield Wanderers)


1. Heather Lockhart (Hillhead-Jordanhill)

2.Lindsey Smith (Hillhead-Jordanhill)

3.Tracy Balmer CAPTAIN (Worcester)

4. Deborah McCormack (Richmond)

5. Emma Wassell (Murrayfield Wanderers)

6. Ruth Slaven (Murrayfield Wanderers)

7. Tess Forsberg (Richmond)

8. Jade Konkel (Hillhead-Jordanhill)


16. Lana Skeldon (Melrose)

17.Karen Dunbar (Watsonians)

18. Lisa Robertson (Murrayfield Wanderers)

19. Rachael Cook (Murrayfield Wanderers)

20. Louise Dalgliesh (RHC Cougars)

21.Lisa Martin (Murrayfield Wanderers)

22. Megan Gaffney (Hillhead-Jordanhill)

23. Sarah Smith (Hillhead-Jordanhill)