All or nothing for Aberdeen

There will only be one RBS Premiership tie taking place this weekend, as two teams who find themselves in the lower half of the table battle it out in a bid to avoid relegation.  

George Horne who will play full-back for Currie this weekend.

Aberdeen Grammar’s Premiership fate hangs in the balance as they head to the capital to take on Currie at Malleny Park (1.30pm). If the north-east side do not gain at least two league points from their game on Saturday, they will face automatic relegation to RBS National league for season 2013/14.

However, this will be no easy feat as their opposition, Currie, will also be extremely keen to grab league points as they carry-on in their attempt to avoid the drop-zone. A win for the Edinburgh side, will not see them completely clear of the relegation zone, however, would see them avoid the potential of automatic relegation.

Currie head coach, Ally Donaldson, said: “Aberdeen have lost their last two league matches at the death and will be aggrieved at their position in the league, which by no means reflects the strength of their squad.

“Although we ended up winning comfortably on the score board last week, it was by no means a polished performance. We were rusty having not played for a month, and only three times this year.

“Hopefully we’ve addressed these matters, and will need to show this against what will be a very fired up Aberdeen side.”

Pro players turning out for Premiership clubs this weekend are Joaquin Dominguez, Sean Cox (both Currie), Byron McGuigan and Folau Niua (both Aberdeen).

Currie v Aberdeen Grammar, Malleny Park, 1.30pm

Currie: George Horne; Ruairidh Smith, Joaquin Dominguez, Joe Reynolds, Ethan Pollock; James Semple, Richard Snedden; John Cox, David Cherry, Alastair Hamilton, Sean Cox, Petre Natrascu, Mark Cairns (captain), Malcolm Peacock and Ross Weston.

Replacements: Graeme Carson, Fraser Watts, Gary Temple, Mike Vernal and Harvey Elms.

Aberdeen Grammar: Stevie Aitken; Will Wardlaw, Harry Duthie, Greig Ryan (captain), Byron McGuigan; Sam Knudson, Morgan Ward; Matt Dixon, Sam Bingham, Nicki Fraser, Stuart Smith, Jamie Metcalfe, Ally Mackie, Tony McGinness and Tom Preece.

Replacements: Sean O’Connor, AN Other, Calum Harvey, Folau Niua and Jamie Lauder.

Referee: Neil Paterson