Three players given first Scotland start

Among the five players promoted from the bench following last week’s match against France, three will be making their first start for Scotland Women as they take on Wales this Sunday (16 March) at Talbot Athletic Ground.

Lisa Martin

Scotland Women head coach, Jules Maxton, said: “We hope these girls can bring a different kind of intensity from the offset.

“These players have made a strong enough impact off the bench in recent games, and thoroughly deserve a chance to show what they can do in the starting team.

“We’re really targeting this game as a chance to put some points on the board, and on our table tally, to end our Six Nations with a solid performance and a win.”

In the back division, Megan Gaffney returns to the left wing ahead of Katy Green, as Lisa Martin takes her spot in the ten jersey in place of Tanya Griffith, who will not feature in this week’s squad.

Gillian Inglis and Laura Steven switch positions for the trip to Wales, the former moving to inside centre, the latter to the outside.

Making their first starts for Scotland, prop Karen Dunbar and hooker Lana Skeldon will take the place of Heather Lockhart and Lindsey Smith respectively.

The only other change in the pack is in the back-row as Rachael Cook, also making her first appearance in the starting XV, replaces her Murrayfield Wanderers team-mate Ruth Slaven.

Utility back, Lyndsey O’Donnell, makes her first appearance in the squad this campaign as she claims a spot on the bench.  


Scotland Women’s team to play Wales on Sunday 16 March (2pm) at Talbot Athletic Ground:

15. Stephanie Johnston (Worcester)


14. Annabel Sergeant (Richmond)

13. Laura Steven (Murrayfield Wanderers)

12. Gillian Inglis (Melrose)

11. Megan Gaffney (Hillhead/Jordanhill)


10. Lisa Martin (Murrayfield Wanderers)

9. Sarah Law (Murrayfield Wanderers)


1. Karen Dunbar (Watsonians)

2. Lana Skeldon (Melrose)

3. Tracy Balmer (Worcester) CAPTAIN

4. Deborah McCormack (Richmond) 

5. Emma Wassell (Murrayfield Wanderers)

6. Rachael Cook (Murrayfield Wanderers)

7. Tess Forsberg (Richmond)

8. Jade Konkel (Hillhead/Jordanhill)


16. Lindsey Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

17. Heather Lockhart (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

18. Lisa Robertson (Murrayfield Wanderers)

19. Ruth Slaven (Murrayfield Wanderers)

20. Lyndsay O’Donnell (Worcester)

21. Louise Dalgliesh (RHC Cougars)

22. Katy Green (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)

23. Sarah Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill)


Scotland Women under-20 v Belgium

Scotland Women under-20s will also be playing this weekend, when they take on the full Belgian Women’s national side on Saturday 15 March at Peffermill (2pm).

Having already played two warm-up matches against Stirling County and an Army development squad, head coach Alex Laybourne is excited about the forthcoming game.

He said:

“We’ve got a young and exciting group of players who are progressing well as players and, as a side, have a lot to offer.

“We know that playing against a full national side will be tough but we’re more than up for the challenge.

“If we can bring everything we’ve worked on, as a side, to the park on Saturday, then I’m hopeful for a positive result in what will be an extremely competitive fixture.”


Scotland Women under-20 squad

15. Hannah Sloan (Stewartry)


14. Rhona Lloyd (Murrayfield Wanderers)

13. Abigail Evans (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

12. Emily Irving (Ayr)

11. Caitlin Harvey (Caithness)


10. Jenny Taylor (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

9. Mhairi Grieve (RDVC)


1. Stephanie Campbell (Craig Dunain)

2. Louise Houston (Cartha Queens Park)

3. Eilidh Simpson (Dundee University)

4. Lisa Croniken (Ayr/Dundee)

5. Alex Read (Murrayfield Wanderers)

6. Megan Kennedy (Stirling County)

7. Lucy Park (Murrayfield Wanderers)

8. Holly Donnelly-Bush (West Bridgeford)


16. Siobhan McMillan (Cartha Queens Park)

17. Alisa Luke (Lismore)

18. Errin Hendry-Giles (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

19. Kathryn Stewart (Morgan)

20. Liusaidh McMaster (RDVC)

21. Abigail Norris (Garioch)

22. Chloe Johnstone (Stewartry)

23. Lucy Winter (Watsonians)