Melrose lift the RBS Premiership trophy

The RBS Premiership was decided in the very last second of the 2013/14 campaign and it was Greenyards side Melrose who won the trophy.

Fraser Thomson lifts the RBS Premiership trophyGala and Melrose were the two contenders for the title. Gala needed to win to take the trophy, while Melrose needed to win and see Gala lose.

First, Melrose took control of the one thing that they could affect by beating Currie, 26-10.

Meanwhile, three miles along the road at Netherdale Gala were broken hearted when lock, Opeta Palepoi touched down in the 88th minute of play and stand-off David O’Hagan slotted a conversion to end one of the most dramatic games this season. The visitors, Ayr won 34-33. 

Melrose head coach, John Dalziel, said: “We’re delighted, this is a good group of players who have come together and been consistent throughout the year, even when club captain, Fraser Thomson has been out for the majority of the season.

Our focus today was Currie, we knew we needed to win it and that was all we had control over. But, I can’t imagine how Gala must feel losing by a point. I always knew we were capable of achieving this.” 

Elsewhere around the country, Marr won RBS Championship A with a 12-7 win over second placed Cartha Queens Park and Jed-Forest won RBS Championship B with a 48-14 win over Lasswade. 

The remainder of the fixtures in the RBS Premiership today saw Edinburgh Accies finish up in the relegation play-off spot, losing to Stirling County, 23-17; Glasgow Hawks beat Aberdeen Grammar at Old Anniesland, 20-18 and Hawick overcame Heriot’s, 31-21. Stewart's Melville FP will face Edinburgh Accies in the play-off after they secured a losing bonus point in their 19-15 defeat to Watsonians, to finish the second in the RBS National League.

James Eddie scores for Ayr v Gala