Tokyo Bowl challenge for Scotland 7s

Scotland 7s will meet Portugal at 12.44am, tomorrow morning (Sunday 23 March,UK time), in the Tokyo 7s Bowl competition.

The Scots ended day one with a victory v Spain, 24-5, but began the day losing to England, 36-0 and Australia, 26-19.

It was a positive day for Andrew Turnbull who defended very well, at times, in the wide channels and scored five tries, bringing his HSBC Sevens World Series total to 143.

Scotland 7s head coach, Stephen Gemmell, said: “We were very poor against England.  We made too many mistakes, gave the ball away, couldn’t retain posession and missed one on one tackes.

“We improved v Australia, but errors cost us at key times. You can’t give teams 26 points and get a result at this level.

“Spain was a professional job.  We were more accurate, retained possession and did the basics well and applied pressure in defence.

“All in though, it has been a disappointing day as we have finished in the same seed we came into the competiton.  We have to strive for more than that.

Tomorrow is a big day and every Series point is vital.  We need to come out, against Portugal and play with the same intensity and accuracy that we ended today with.”

Also on the scoresheet were James Johnstone and Mark Robertson who touched down in the Spain match.  Captain, Colin Gregor added two conversions against Australia and two against Spain.

Scotland 7s last met Portugal at the same stage in Wellington back in January and won 31-5.

Tokyo 7s day one

Scotland 0-36 England
Starting team: TBC
Replacements: TBC

Scotland 19-26 Australia
Tries: Andrew Turnbull (3)
Conversions: Colin Gregor (2)
Starting team: Scott Riddell, Mark Robertson, Alex Glashan, Colin Gregor, Chris Dean, Andrew Turnbull and Michael Maltman
Replacements: Finlay Gillies, Scott Wight, James Johnstone (all 11mins), Neil Herron and Joseva Nayacavou (not used).

Scotland 24-5 Spain
Tries: Andrew Turnbull (2), James Johnstone and Mark Robertson
Conversions: Colin Gregor (2)
Starting team: Mark Robertson, Alex Glashan, Colin Gregor, Chris Dean, Andrew Turnbull, Michael Maltman and James Johnstone.
Replacements: Joseva Nayacavou (8mins), Finlay Gillies, Neil Herron, Scott Wight (all 13mins) and Scott Riddell (not used).