Captains return for 1872 Cup

Glasgow Warriors will host the return leg of the 1872 Cup tomorrow when they welcome derby-rivals Edinburgh Rugby to Scotstoun, kick-off 7.05pm.

The RABODirect PRO12 clash, will see the return of both club captains Al Kellock and Greig Laidlaw of Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh Rugby respectively.

Warriors came out on top in the initial 1872 Cup fixture, closing out a 20-16 victory on Boxing Day at Murrayfield, to put them four points ahead on aggregate.

A victory for Glasgow could see them move into second place in the RABODirect PRO12 league sitting behind Leinster. If Edinburgh are to grab the win, they will leapfrog Cardiff Blues to climb into seventh place in the table.

Tickets are available from and from the ticket office at Scotstoun which will be open from 10.30am up until kick-off (subject to availability).  

Glasgow Warriors: Peter Murchie; Sean Maitland, Mark Bennett, Finn Russell, Tommy Seymour; Ruaridh Jackson, Chris Cusiter; Ryan Grant, Dougie Hall, Jon Welsh, Jonny Gray, Al Kellock (captain), Rob Harley, Chris Fusaro and Josh Strauss.

Replacements: Pat MacArthur, Jerry Yanuyanutawa, Moray Low, Leone Nakarawa, Ryan Wilson, Niko Matawalu, Duncan Weir and Richie Vernon.

Edinburgh Rugby: Jack Cuthbert; Tom Brown, Matt Scott, Andries Strauss, Tim Visser; Carl Bezuidenhout, Greig Laidlaw (captain); Alasdair Dickinson, Ross Ford, Willem Nel, Grant Gilchrist, Izak van der Westhuizen, Mike Coman, Cornell Du Preez and David Denton.

Replacements: James Hilterbrand, Wicus Blaauw, Simon Berghan, Ben Toolis, Tomas Leonardi, Grayson Hart, Piers Francis and Sam Beard.

Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France)