Change of format for Border League

The Border League will take a different format for season 2014/15, going back to a full round-robin set-up as opposed to two pools in which the winner of each went through to play in a final.

Border League secretary John Thorburn, said:

“While this restructuring means there will not be a competition final next year, the round-robin structure means that all teams will go back to playing each other, something which we feel is a huge positive.

“For the last few seasons we have operated with two pools of four teams, yet unfortunately due to other league duties some teams have been unable to fulfil certain competition fixtures throughout the season.”

Hawick YM have pulled out of the 2014/15 competition as they feel they are not strong enough to compete with all the other clubs involved.

Gala, Melrose and Hawick will double-head their appropriate Premiership fixtures with Border League games, while National League sides  Selkirk, Kelso, Peebles and Jed-Forest will follow suit.