Warriors name squad for final showdown

Both Glasgow Warriors and Leinster have named their squads for the RaboDirect PRO12 final tomorrow (Saturday 31 May, 6.15pm). The two sides are expected to compete in-front of a crowd of over 19,000 at the RDS Stadium in Dublin.

Glasgow celebrate a try during their 12-6 victory over Leinster in September

This is the first time that a Scottish club have made the final, adding to the enormity of the Warriors’ feat.

Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend, said: “Making the final is a great achievement for the club and for Scottish rugby, but this is a big opportunity for us to take the next step.

“We face a huge challenge tomorrow night as Leinster are defending champions and have been one of the top sides in Europe for a number of years.

“The squad have trained really well this week and everyone associated with the club can’t wait to see the players perform in the final.

“We’ve had incredible support all season and our supporters will once again have a big role to play tomorrow night.

“We will give everything we’ve got in our quest to achieve something which no Scottish side has ever done before.”

Townsend has made two changes to the squad which defeated Munster, 16-15, in the semi-final sell-out at Scotstoun earlier this month.

Peter Horne will replace Mark Bennett in the centre, with Alex Dunbar moving out to 13, as Glasgow Warriors’ only try-scorer in the semi-final Gordon Reid, starts instead of Ryan Grant in the front-row.

Leinster, who defeated Ulster, 13-9, to secure a home final, will be looking to defend their title, and take home the cup for the fourth time in the competition’s history.  

Glasgow and Leinster have already met twice this year, each side winning at home – The Warriors by 12-6 at Scotstoun in September and Leinster by 28-25 at the RDS in March.

The game will be televised live on BBC2 Scotland and BBC Alba.

Glasgow Warriors squad: Peter Murchie; Sean Maitland, Alex Dunbar, Peter Horne, Tommy Seymour; Finn Russell, Chris Cusiter; Gordon Reid, Dougie Hall, Jon Welsh, Jonny Gray, Al Kellock (captain), Rob Harley, Chris Fusaro and Josh Strauss.

Replacements: Pat MacArthur, Ryan Grant, Moray Low, Tim Swinson, Leone Nakarawa, Niko Matawalu, Ruaridh Jackson and Sean Lamont.

Leinster squad: Rob Kearney; Fergus McFadden, Brian O’Driscoll, Gordon D’Arcy, Zane Kirchner; Jimmy Gopperth, Eoin Reddan; Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Mike Ross, Devin Toner, Mike McCarthy, Rhys Ruddock, Shane Jennings and Jamie Heaslip (captain).

Replacements: Aaron Dundon, Jack McGrath, Martin Moore, Leo Cullen, Sean O’Brien, Isaac Boss, Ian Madigan and Darragh Fanning.