Women regroup for start of season

An extended Scotland Women squad will gather at Murrayfield this weekend (20 and 21 September) in preparation, ultimately, for participation in next year's 6 Nations.

Long-serving players including 70-times capped prop Heather Lockhart [pictured above] are included in the 34-strong squad, alongside new recruits including Hatty Cumber, the hat-trick heroine in Murrayfield Wanderers' win over Melrose in last season's Sarah Beany Cup final.
Head coach Jules Maxton said: "The players have worked hard during the summer – including a pre-season camp – and I'm looking forward to the new rugby year.”
Training friendlies are planned, home and away, during the autumn and winter, in preparation for what will be another tough tournament, with Women's Rugby World Cup winners England amongst their opposition. Added Maxton:

"With these training game opportunities, the players are motivated and there is real competition for places in the squad.” 

Recently-appointed Head of Women's Rugby Sheila Begbie said: "'Women's rugby is one of the five key initiatives for Scottish Rugby and we have seen an increased investment in the opportunities for the players involved in our performance programmes this season.
"I am really looking forward to meeting the women's national team at their training camp this weekend to look at player aspirations, individually and collectively, and to start the process of building a successful team on the pitch.

 "This will be a medium to long term goal for us and Saturday is the first step toward this, with our Director of Performance Rugby, Scott Johnston, and myself meeting the women's team to discuss the future plans.” 

Karen Dunbar                   (RHC Cougars)
Deborah McCormack        (Richmond)
Tess Forsberg                   (Richmond)
Heather Lockhart              (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Lindsey Smith                   (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Sarah Quick                      (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Emma Wassell                  (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Lisa Robertson                  (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Lana Skeldon                    (Melrose)
Bridget Miller-Mills             (Waterloo)
Christianne Fahey              (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Judith Telford                      (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Lindsay O'Donnell               (Worcester)
Ruth Slaven                        (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Rachael Cook                     (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Fiona Sim                           (Loughbourgh University)
Tracy Balmer                      (Worcester)
Megan Kennedy                 (Stirling)
Lisa Martin                         (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Gillian Inglis                       (Melrose)
Annabel Sergeant              (Richmond)
Laura Steven                     (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Sarah Smith                      (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Mhairi Grieve                     (RHC Cougars)
Nicola Halfpenny                (Melrose)
Nuala Deans                      (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Harriet Cumber                  (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Tanya Griffith                     (RHC Cougars)
Claire Bain                         (RHC Cougars)
Sarah Law                         (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Eilidh Sinclair                    (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Leanne Neary                   (RHC Cougars)
Abigail Evans                    (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Stephanie Johnston          (Worcester)