Under-20s chance to impress

A 44 person squad will assemble at BT Murrayfield, in two weeks’ time, for the first Scotland under-20 camp of the 2014/15 season.

Edinburgh Rugby's Jamie Ritchie features in the 44-man squad

Those selected will have three days of training under the watchful eye of head coach Sean Lineen, and his assistants Iain Monaghan and John Dalziel of Glasgow Warriors and Melrose respectively.  

The squad contains a mix of experienced players at under-20 international level   – some of whom competed in June’s IRB Junior World Championship in New Zealand – as well as a number of players who have graduated from the Scotland under-18 ranks and those new to the international set-up.

Lineen, said: “This is our first chance to have a look at the group of players we’ll be working with this season, so we’re looking forward to seeing what’s on offer.

“We want the players to really work hard during this short time, and put themselves in contention for a place in our remaining three camps in the lead up to the 6 Nations.

“This first camp will give us the opportunity to put the squad through their paces and show them the standards they need to compete at this level.”

The under-20s have a packed programme this season, initially competing in the 6 Nations early next year before progressing to the 2015 Junior World Championships in Italy, where they will meet Ireland, New Zealand and Argentina in the pool stages.

Lineen continued: “At under-20 international level there is both a 6 Nations and a World Cup tournament every year, which is always a huge challenge for us as a group"

“Our job is to get the squad ready, physically and mentally, for the challenges of international rugby.

“Ultimately, we want to provide the best system that will allow this group of players to compete and win games at the top level.”

Scotland under-20 squad for training camp (Monday 13 to Wednesday 15 October)

Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby/Boroughmuir)**

Scott Burnside (Heriot’s)

Lewis Carmichael (Melrose)*

Ben Cogley (Heriot’s)

Alex Coombes (London Scottish)

Reiss Cullen (Watsonians)

Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks)**

Andrew Davidson (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks)**

Dan Elkington (Watsonians)

Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks)**

Cameron Fenton (Glasgow Warriors/Heriot’s)**

Tom Galbraith (Melrose)

Nick Gray (Liverpool University/Nottingham Rugby)

Ross Graham (Hawick)

Adam Hastings (Millfield School)

George Horne (Glasgow Hawks)

Rory Hutchison (Northampton Saints)

Struan Hutchison (Northumberland University)

Ruairi Howarth (Edinburgh Rugby/Gala)**

Neil Irvine-Hess (Melrose)

Sam James (Wasps)

Ben Johnson (Ayr)

Patrick Kelly (Le Parc)

Jake Kerr (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians)**

Ruairidh Knott (Melrose)

Gavin Lowe (Glasgow Warriors/Ayr)**

Ali Mackie (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby)

Andrew Manson (Stewart’s Melville FP)

Murray McCallum (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby)*

Ally Miller (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians)**

Reuben Norville (Leicester Tigers)

Jack Owlett (Exeter Chiefs/Exeter University)

Gavin Parker (Exeter Chiefs/Exeter University)

Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby)

Ben Robbins (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians)**

Gary Robertson (Gala)

Archie Russell (Stirling County)

Callum Sheldon (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians)**

Matthew Smith (Glasgow Warriors/Stirling County)**

Ruaridh Smith (Currie)

George Taylor (Melrose/Loretto School)

Richard Taylor (Melrose)*

Ben Vellacott (Gloucester/Hartpury College)

Lewis Wynne (Stirling County)


* Member of Scottish Rugby’s Regional Academy supported by sportscotland

** Elite Development Player 2014/15