Edinburgh and Glasgow victorious in inter-district fixtures

Edinburgh and Glasgow were the two teams who emerged victoroious in the second round of under-18 BT Sport Academy inter-district fixtures at BT Murrayfield last night. 

The home team recorded a comfortable win against their Caledonia counterparts, 32-14, while the side from the west pipped the Borders, 17-15. 

Following the first round at Netherdale, a week past Sunday (12 October), Edinburgh have now taken the plaudits on two occassions while Glasgow and Caledonia have one win from two each. The Borders side are yet to record a victory.

In the first match, for the winners, there were tries from full-back Ben Appleson, wingers Ross McCann and Robbie Nairn, outside centre Ali Greig, flanker Fergus Haig and lock Hamish Bain. Appleson added one conversion. Full-back Callum Nichol scored a brace while Bruce Sorbie added two conversions for the losing team.

Glasgow's try scorers were flanker Nicholas Moore, full-back Sam Gray and outisde centre Gregor Paxtion, while scruk-half Andrew Simmers added the extras on one occassion. Prop Finn Hobbis and inside centre Thomas Klein touched down for the Borders whil stand-off Kyle Brunton added a cnversion and a penalty to their tally.

Edinburgh 32-14 Caledonia

Edinburgh under-18 team: Ben Appleson (Edinburgh Academy); Ross McCann (Royal High School / RHC Cougars), Ali Greig (Stewart's Melville College), Ronan Kerr CAPTAIN (George Watson's College), Robbie Nairn (George Watson's College); Kelvin Chen (Edinburgh Academy), Charlie Shiel (Royal High School / RHC Cougars); Ross Dunbar (Linlithgow Academy / Stirling County), Callum Harris (George Watson's College), Callum Eastwood (George Watson's College), Hamish Bain (George Watson's College / Portobello), Callum Hunter-Hill (Stewart's Melville College), Luke Crosbie (West Calder High School / Currie), Fergus Haig (Fettes College) and Scott McGinley (Edinburgh Academy).
Replacements: Ross Gordon (Stewart's Melville College), Fergus Bradbury (Mechiston Castle School), Alexander Whyte (George Heriot's School), Tom Henderson (Merchiston Castle School), George Archibald (Craigmount High School / Boroughmuir), Chris Davies (George Watson's College), Robert Kay (George Heriot's School) and Aaron Tait (Merchiston Castle School).

Caledonia under-18 team: Callum Nicol (Strathallan School); Andrew McKenzie (Dunfermline), Bruce Sorbie (Robert Gordon's College), Paul Paxton (Ellon), Ben Eynon (Strathallan School); Blair Goodfellow (Glenalmond School), Jamie Troup (Strathallan School); Adam Nicol (Queen Anne High School / Dunfermline); Connor Crawford (Queen Anne High School / Dunfermline), Lewis McLean (Strathallan School), Angus Grindlay (Aberdeen Wanderers), Dean Rodger (Moray), Euan Milton (Highland), Duncan Wither (Glenalmond College) and Matt Fagerson (Strathallan School).
Replacements: Murdo Paterson (Highland), Jonny Grant (Telford College), Liam Brymer (Stirling County), Callum Harris (Strathallan School), Harry Henderson (Stirling County), Fionnlagh Call (Highland), Iain Crush (Highland) and Connor Faulds (Falkirk).

Borders 15-17 Glasgow

Borders under-18 team: Ewan Runciman (Earlston High School / Melrose); Alex McKay (North Berwick High School), Patrick Anderson (Berwickshire High School / Melrose), Thomas Klein (Earlston High School / Melrose), Liam Cook (Loretto School); Kyle Brunton (Hawick High School / Hawick Wanderers), Arthur Sinclair (Dunbar Grammar School / Musselburgh); Finn Hobbis (North Berwick High School / North Berwick), Fraser Renwick (Hawich High School / Hawick Wanderers), William Napier (Peebles), Neil Turnbull (Galashiels Academy / Gala Wanderers), William Brown (Penicuik High School / Peebles), Thomas Hamilton (Preston Lodge High School / Currie), Andrew Grant-Suttie (Loretto School) and Harry Borthwick (Berwick).
Replacements: John Gardener (North Berwick High School / North Berwick), Nathan Smith (Langholm Academy / Langholm), Blair Robertson (Kelso), Daniel Suddon (Hawick High School / Hawick Wanderers), Connal Howard (Earlston High School / Melrose), Robbie Chalmers (Earlston High School / Melrose), Findlay Graham (North Berwick Hgih School / North Berwick) and Tom Gill (Knox Academy / Haddington).

Glasgow under-18 team: Sam Gray (Ayr); Scott Derrick (GHA), Gregor Paxton (Ayr), Charlie Lonegran (St Alyosius' College), Aaron Purewal (Hutchesons' Grammar School); John McCorkindale (Ayr), Andrew Simmers CAPTAIN (Glasgow Academy); Michael Scott (St Aloysius' College / GHA), Luis Barron (Whitecraigs), Kyle McNulty (Ayr), Matthew Nothcote (Ayr), Ross Hay (Ayr), Nicholas Moore (St Aloysius' College), Walker Graham (Hutchesons' Grammar School / GHA) and Lloyd Clark (Moffat).
Replacements: Ruaridh Sayce (Ayr), Cameron Gilchrist (Moffat), Calum Braid (Dumfries Saints), Fraser Curran (St Aloysius' College), Ryan Sweeney (Glasgow Academy), Sam Graham (Ayr), Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr) and Tom Brown (GHA).