Derbies galore in 13th round of BT Premiership

Heriot’s will look to defend the Bill McLaren Shield for a second time tomorrow at Goldenacre, when they face their closest rivals, Edinburgh Accies at 2pm. 

Melrose and Glasgow Hawks also kick-off at the earlier time in round 13 of the BT Premiership at The Greenyards.

Stirling County and Currie, who both now sit one point behind Gala in fifth and sixth place respectively, will be looking to press on into the top-four. 

Currie's Ross WestonStirling County travel to Millbrae where they’ll face Ayr, while Currie welcome Boroughmuir to Malleny Park for the second capital derby of the day; both matches kick-off at 3pm. 

Currie Head Coach, Ben Cairns, said: “Last week’s game was tremendously disappointing.

“After probably putting in our best performance of the year against Gala we followed that up with one of our worst against a resilient Accies side.

We know Boroughmuir will be targeting this game to close the gap on the teams above them and start a run that pulls them away from the bottom of the table.

“They have a number of players back from injury now and are bolstered by a couple of professionals, since the last time we met. However, we have only lost once at home this season and we are determined to put in another fully committed performance in front of our home crowd.

“With the weather no doubt playing its part on the match we expect nothing less than a full-on, ferocious encounter.”

Gala and Hawick round-off the day’s fixtures with a much anticipated Border derby at Netherdale. Arguably, this match could be the pick of the bunch, given the recent form of the two clubs.

Hawick Head Coach, Nikki Walker, said: “It’s going to be another very tough match against Gala this weekend, in which we know a performance anything below our best will not be good enough.  

“Gala have got their injury worries, but it doesn't seem to effect the competitive nature George has instilled in his squad.  

I think this will be a very exciting physical Border tussle, as usual and one that I know both teams will relish with an eye looking to go into the Christmas break on a high.”

Jamie Ritchie (Heriot’s), Chris Dean, Alex Allan, Alex Toolis (all Edinburgh Accies), Joaquin Dominguez (Hawick), Peter Murchie, Mike Cusack (both Currie), Simon Berghan (Boroughmuir), Doug Hall, Jerry Yanuyanutawa (both Ayr), Rory Hughes and Fraser Lyle (both Stirling County) are the professional players released to the clubs this weekend. 

Elsewhere, on Sunday (14 December), Currie’s under-16 team will win the Scottish Rugby Youth League, following their match with Strathaven at Malleny Park, kick-off 2pm.

The side have already, mathematically done enough to secure the title.

Melrose v Glasgow Hawks, The Greenayrds, 2pm

Melrose team: Fraser Thomson CAPTAIN; Tito Mua, Blair Hutchison, Joe Helps, Bruce Colvine; Austin Lockington, Murdo McAndrew; Nick Beavon, Richard Ferguson, Ewan McQuillin, James Head, Lewis Carmichael, Andrew Nagle, Peter Eccles and Graeme Dodds.
Replacements: Nicky Little, Ruaridh Knott, Neil Irvine-Hess, Tom Wilson and Tom Galbraith.

Glasgow Hawks team: Jack Steele; Robbie Houliston, Brendan McGroarty, David Milne, Paul Ramsay; George Horne, Paddy Boyer; Steven Findlay, Jack McFarlane, Zander Fagerson, Andy Kirkland, Scott Cummings, Tommy Spinks, Finlay Gillies CAPTAIN, and Andy Kirkland.
Replacements: Gary Strain, Brendan Cullinane, Andy Linton, Matuesz Bartoszek and Andy Fleming.


Heriot’s v Edinburgh Accies, Goldenacre, 2pm

Heriot’s team: Glenn Bryce; Harry Boisseau, Max Learmonth, Keith Buchan, Charlie Simpson; Gregor McNeish, Graham Wilson; Gavin Cameron, David McGregor, Struan Cessford, Russell Nimmo, Jack Turley CAPTAIN, Jono Armstrong, Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) and Jason Hill.
Replacements: Blair Couper, Nathan Borel, Jack McLean, David Sommerville and David McMaster.

Edinburgh Accies team: Ruairidh Young; Sam Pecqueur, Chris Dean (Edinburgh Rugby), Iain Berthinussen, Jack Marples; Alex Glashan, James Munro; Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors), David Bates, Lewis Niven, Greg Campbell CAPTAIN, Alex Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby), Ronan Seydak, Jamie Sole and Robin Snape.
Replacements: Michael Liness, Duncan Morrison, Jamie McCarthy, Ryan Godsmark and Robert Wilson.


Gala v Hawick, Netherdale, 3pm

Gala team: Ruairi Howarth; Keith Young, Gregor Mein, Alan Emond, Lewis Young; David O'Hagan, George Graham CAPTAIN; Lewis Bertram, Russell Anderson, Callum MacIntosh, Chris Weir, Opeta Palepoi, Ewan Dods, Scot Wilkinson and Tom Weir.
Replacements: Gary Robertson, Ewan Johnstone, Chris Mein, Graham Speirs and Grant Sommerville.

Hawick team: Scott Peffers; Nikki Walker, John Coutts, Joaquin Dominguez (Edinburgh Rugby), Scott McLeod; Rory Hutton, Greg Cottrell; Shawn Muir, Ross Graham, Matthew Landels, Mike McKee, Bruce McNeil, Nick McTaggart, Ross Gibson and Michael Robertson.
Replacements: Lindsay Gibson, William Blacklock, Keith Davies, Sean Goodfellow and Matthew Douglas.


Currie v Boroughmuir, Malleny Park, 3pm

Currie team: Peter Murchie (Glasgow Warriors); Harvey Elms, Matt McPhillips, Joe Reynolds, Chris Logan; James Semple, Richard Snedden; John Cox, Matt Goodwin, Graeme Carson, Romain Denonain, Charlie McLean, Mike Vernel, Malcolm Peacock and Ross Weston CAPTAIN.
Replacements: Reece Patterson, Mike Cusack (Glasgow Warriors), Gary Temple, Paul Mundell and William Martin.

Boroughmuir team: Ed Farquharson; Grant McConnell, Jordan Edmunds, Craig Marshall, Sep Visser; Chris Laidlaw, Jonny Adams; Robbie Wilson, Cal Davies, Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby), Trent Sutton, Iain Moody CAPTAIN, Andy Rose, Mike Entwhistle and Magnus Bradbury.
Replacements: Darren Miller, Angus Wallace, Adam Best, Sam Johnson and David Reekie.


Ayr v Stirling County, Millbrae, 3pm

Ayr team: Grant Anderson; Craig Gossman, Ross Curle, Dean Kelbrick CAPTAIN, Robbie Fergusson; Danny McCluskey, David Armstrong; George Hunter, Fergus Scott, D’Arcy Rae, Robert McAlpine, Scott Sutherland, Callum Templeton, Will Bordill and Blair McPherson.
Replacements: Doug Hall, Jerry Yanuyanutawa (both Glasgow Warriors), Andrew Dunlop, Graham Fisken and Kerr Gossman.

Stirling County team: Joff Hope; Matt Lamb, Cameron Hughes, Danny Gilmour, Rory Hughes; Fraser Lyle (both Glasgow Warriors), Ali Price; Jamie Bhatti, Reyner Kennedy, Gary Mountford, Ruairidh Leishman, Euan Dewar, Struan Robertson, Shaun MacDonald and Lewis Wynne.
Replacements: TBC