Inaugural women’s Cup set for centre stage at BT Murrayfield

pic: Scottish Rugby's most capped player of all time, Donna Kennedy, won her 115th cap in WRWC 2010

While rugby eyes on Saturday may be south of the border, the focus very definitely returns to the national stadium in Scotland’s capital city on Sunday, with the inaugural Donna Kennedy Cup.
The cream of talent from the east and south takes on the best from the west and north as the players battle in out for a new trophy, bragging rights and the chance to stake a claim for Scotland Women selection.

Each team has been selected by specially-appointed coaches – Graeme Young and Rory McKay for Edinburgh and the Borders, with Stuart Fenwick and Rory McGee for Glasgow and Caledonia – from clubs and the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academies. Players will be wearing bespoke jerseys for the occasion which, it's hoped, will become an annual event.
The Cup itself is named after Scotland’s most capped rugby player, Donna Kennedy, who retired from international competition with 115 caps in 2010, having played in Scotland’s first ever women’s international fixture, against Ireland in 1993.  

In addition, the Keri Holdsworth player of the match award will go to the outstanding performer of the afternoon. A fifteen-times capped Scotland Women international, Keri worked as a physiotherapist with a number of Scotland’s age grade teams until her untimely death last year, at the age of 36, following a road accident.  

Scotland Women head coach Shade Munro said: “I’m delighted that this match, named after Scotland’s most capped rugby player, has come to fruition.
“It’ll be a hotly contested game, with all players looking to stake a claim for a place in the Scotland squad and win bragging rights for their region.

  “Over the last few months I’ve seen a number of really talented players at our training camps and this fixture is the perfect opportunity for a number of new club faces to put their hands up for selection and challenge some of the more established players.”

Such has been the interest that clubs in the BT Premier League have readily agreed to reschedule fixtures for this Sunday to enable as many as possible to attend the game.
Munro added: “I hope lots of supporters from throughout the country will come along and cheer on their teams in what’s going to be a great afternoon of rugby."
The Donna Kennedy Cup kicks off at 3pm on the main pitch at BT Murrayfield, entry is free and no ticket is required. Supporters can park, on a first come first served basis, in the Saughtonhall Car Park (entry by Riversdale bridge). Food, hot and cold soft drinks will be available to purchase from a unit on the concourse.

The BT Sport Academy under-20 Finals also taking place as part of the same event on Sunday at BT Murrayfield.

k/o 1.00pm - Caledonia v Borders & East Lothian (back pitch)
k/o 4.45pm - Edinburgh v Glasgow & West (main pitch)

Donna Kennedy Cup squads

Sunday 11 October 2015, kick-off 3pm

Edinburgh and Borders

Karen Dunbar (RHC Cougars)
Megan McIvor (Melrose)
Katie Dougan (RHC Cougars/Edinburgh University)
Eilidh Simpson  (Dundee University)
Kaylene Jensen   (Watsonians)
Liusaidh McMaster  (RHC Cougars/Edinburgh University)
Sarah Bell  (Melrose)
Sarah Hogwood (RHC Cougars)
Sarah Quick (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Lucy Park *  (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Catriona Syme (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Emma Wassell *  (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Beth Dickens (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Jane Paterson  (RHC Cougars)
Sarah Gill (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Claire Bain (RHC Cougars)
Helen Nelson  (Murrayfield Wanderers/Edinburgh Rugby)
Eilidh Sinclair * (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Lisa Thomson * (Melrose/Edinburgh University)
Nicola Halfpenny (Melrose)
Chloe Rollie * (Melrose)
Rhona Lloyd (Murrayfield Wanderers/Edinburgh University)
Lisa Martin * (Murrayfield Wanderers)
Ellie-Louise Wilson (Lismore)
Glasgow and Caledonia

Mairi Forsyth  (Aberdeen Quines/Hillhead Jordanhill)
Debbie Falconer (Stirling County)
Lisa Croniken (Ayr/Stirling County)
Jemma Forsyth (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Sammy Durnan (Stewartry Sirens)
Jade Konkel * (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Heather Lockhart  (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Siobhan McMillan  (Cartha Queens Park)
Lynda Morgan (Ayr)
Lana Skeldon * (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Jenny Johnston (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Tamsin Tyeson (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Lindsey Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Rachael Whyte (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Abi Evans (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Alison Cook (Hillhead Jordanhill/Ayr)
Hannah Telling (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Kirsty Reid (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Caitlin Harvey * (Caithness/RHC Cougars)
Laura Turner (Ayr)
Andrea Gaffney (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Emily Irving (Ayr)
Sarah Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)
* BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 2 players 2015-16