Academy teams named for BT Murrayfield showdown

On Sunday (11 October), four sides from the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy will descend upon BT Murrayfield, for the inaugural under-20 finals day at the national stadium.

The teams will represent the four regions – Edinburgh, Glasgow & the West, Borders & East Lothian and Caledonia. The set-up of the finals was determined after a series of round-robin fixtures which took place between the sides, prior to the domestic season starting, in August. 

Scotland under-20 captain, Jamie Ritchie is named in the Edinburgh Academy side

As well as BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy players, the regional sides will include a host of age-grade internationalists, professional players and some of the top-talent from the top tier of the domestic game. 

Stephen Gemmell, Scottish Rugby’s Head of Academy and Performance Programmes, said: “The previous under-20 Academy encounters have been exciting, high-tempo affairs and we can expect more of the same on Sunday, especially when you see the calibre of players on show”

“There is a lot of pride involved as the players are representing their respective regions, with the re-introduction of the regional championships and the chance to win silverware, bringing the rivalry back to life.

“This may be the first time that some of the players have graced the hallowed BT Murrayfield turf, yet there is no doubt that it won’t be the last for some of these talented individuals.” 

The main final will be played between Edinburgh and Glasgow & the West at 4.45pm on the international pitch, following the women’s Donna Kennedy Cup.

Amongst Edinburgh’s 23-man squad are four players who contributed to Scotland under-20s highest ever finish in the World Championships.

Jamie Ritchie, who captained the age-grade side last season, starts in the back-row with Edinburgh Rugby colleague Blair Kinghorn being handed the 15 jersey. Back-row Ally Miller and prop Dan Elkington, who also travelled to Italy for the World Championships, start for the capital side.

Their opposition, Glasgow & the West, also boast a wealth of talent in their ranks, with Academy stage 3 players Matt Smith and Mike Dewar being named in back-row berths. 

The third/fourth place play-off between Borders & East Lothian and Caledonia will kick-off at 1pm on the back-pitches. 

The team from the south have named a strong 23-man squad with Scotland under-20 and BT Premiership regulars Tom Galbraith and Ruairi Howarth in the commanding roles of stand-off and full-back respectively. 

Glasgow Hawks’ Jacob Adamson captains Caledonia from full-back and is joined by Stage 2 Academy players Matthew Emmison and Ewan Fox, who start wearing the number two and ten jerseys.

BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Finals day, BT Murrayfield, Sunday 11 October 

1pm – Caledonia v The Borders & East Lothian, under-20 third/fourth place play-off, BT Murrayfield back-pitches 

3pm – East Women v West Women, Donna Kennedy Cup, BT Murrayfield international pitch 

4.45pm – Edinburgh v Glasgow & the West, under-20 final, BT Murrayfield international pitch


The teams

Edinburgh Academy:

15 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)


14 Ross McCann (Stewart’s Melville)*

13 Ally Greig (Stewart’s Melville)*

12 Cameron Gray (Currie)

11 Saul Melvin-Farr (Edinburgh Accies)


10 Ali Davidson (Watsonians)
9 Hugh Fraser (Heriot’s)**


1 Dan Elkington (Melrose)

2 Craig Willis (Stewart’s Melville)

3 Craig Stewart (Biggar)

4 Callum Hunter-Hill (Stirling County)**

5 Hamish Bain (Currie)*

6 Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby)

7 Scott Burnside (Boroughmuir)*

8 Ally Miller (Melrose)**


Replacements: 16 Malcolm Jack (Edinburgh Accies), 17 Mark Latta (Edinburgh Accies), 18 Cameron McLellan-Watt (Edinburgh Accies), 19 Luke Crosbie (Currie)*, 20 Thomas Gordon (Currie)*, 21 Charlie Shiel (Currie)*, 22 Andrew Manson (Stewart’s Melville) and 23 Robert Kay (Heriot’s)

 Glasgow & the West Academy:

15 Josh Henderson (Glasgow Hawks) *


14 James Couper (Glasgow Hawks)
13 Charlie Lonergan (GHA)*

12 Max MacFarlane (Glasgow Hawks)

11 Graeme Docherty (Cartha Queens Park)


10 Andrew Goudie (GHA)

9 Jack Preston (Ayr)


1 Lyall Archer (GHA)

2 Lewis Anderson (Ayr)

3 Cameron Taylor (Stewart’s Melville)

4 Calum Braid (Dumfries Saints)

5 Lee Scott (Ayr)

6 Michael Dewar (Stirling County)**

7 Angus Neilson (Glasgow Hawks)

8 Matt Smith (Glasgow Hawks) **

Replacements: 16 Ruraidh Sayce (Ayr), 17 Erik Cavan (GHA), 18 Darren Allen (West of Scotland), 19 Adam Nichol (Glasgow Hawks), 20 Walker Graham (GHA), 21 Andrew Simmers (Heriot’s), 22 John McCorkindale (Ayr) and 23 Sam Graham (Ayr)

Borders & East Lothian Academy: 

15 Ruairi Howarth (Gala)**


14 Alec McKay (Musselburgh)

13 George Taylor (Melrose)**

12 Matt McPhilips (Currie)

11 Gavin Wood (Melrose)


10 Tom Galbraith (Melrose)**

9 Arthur Sinclair (Musselburgh)


1 Mike Morrison (Jed-Forest)

2 Fraser Renwick (Hawick) *

3 Blair Robertson (Kelso)

4 Reece Wishart (Ross High)

5 William Brown (Peebles)

6 Stuart Allison (Melrose)

7 Andrew Grant-Suttie (North Berwick/GHA)*

8 Stephen Ainslie (Currie)*

Replacements: 16 Grant Paxton (Jed-Forest), 17 Ben Christie (Loughborough University), 18 Neil Turnbull (Gala/Dundee HSFP), 19 Thomas Hamilton (Currie), 20 Sean Chapman (Hawick), 21 Thomas Klein (Melrose), 22 Robbie Chalmers and 23 Fin Graham (North Berwick) 

Caledonia Academy:


15 Jacob Adamson (Glasgow Hawks)


14 Liam Cousins (Aberdeenshire)

13 Paul Ritch (Glenalmond College)

12 Rhys Thomson (Stirling County)

11 Jamie Batho (Aberdeen University)


10 Ewan Fox (Dundee High)*

9 Fionn Call (Highland)


1 Lewis Skinner (Falkirk)

2 Matthew Emmison (Aberdeenshire) *

3 Owen Jackson (Aberdeenshire)

4 Hamilton Burr (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby)

5 Ewan Stewart (Aberdeenshire)

6 Duncan Wither (Perthshire)

7 Chris Jollands (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby)

8 Declan O’Brien (Perthshire)

Replacements: 16 Fergus McKenzie (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby), 17 Adam Thomson (Deeside), 18 Daniel Dineen (Stirling County), 19 James Pow (Kirkcaldy), 20 Richard Winton (Aberdeen University), Henry Sampson (Dundee HSFP) and Lorne Christie (Howe of Fife).

*BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 2 Players

**BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 Players