Squad named for Club International campaign

Scotland Club International and Heriot’s head coach, Phil Smith, has announced an initial squad of 31 players to represent the Scotland Club International side.

The in-form forwards from Ayr, Heriot’s and Melrose dominate the selection up-front with all coming from sides who are currently dominating in the BT Premiership.

The back-line sees a variety of attacking flair called upon from across the league, including Glasgow Hawks, Currie, Boroughmuir and Gala.

Many key players from last season’s squad have retained their place with last year’s captain Ross Curle and Jason Hill from Heriot’s and Glasgow Warriors providing invaluable experience.

Smith, said: “Throughout the spine of the squad, we have players in key positions who have experience of playing in the Club XV.

I have selected players who have been on genuine form in the BT Premiership and who are best representing the Scottish club rugby game.

Smith has included many new faces within his selection this year, including Hawick’s half-back pairing of Lee Armstrong and Paddy Boyer.

“We have decided to select one out-half and I have been really impressed by Lee this year, he’s a key part of the current Hawick squad.

“Paddy Boyer missed out last year but has maintained his form throughout the season and will contribute from scrum-half.”

James Malcolm, Ross Graham and Lewis Carmichael from the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy have been selected, with the Club XV set to provide an international stage from which to develop.

The squad will now gather for three training sessions in preparation for a warm-up fixture against Scotland U20s (Tuesday 26 January), before a home international against England (Friday 26 February at Netherdale) and an away fixture against Ireland (Friday 18 March at Cork Constitution FC). 

Smith, said: “These fixtures are a chance for the players to show that the Scottish club game is at a high level. I want them to promote themselves, their club, their country and win as many games as possible.”


Scottish Club XV Squad


George Hunter (Ayr), Struan Cessford (Heriot’s), Jamie Bhatti (Melrose), Nicky Little (Hawick), Nick Beavon (Melrose), James Malcolm (Ayr), Ross Graham (Hawick), Michael Liness (Heriot’s), Russell Nimmo (Heriot’s), Rob McAlpine (Ayr), Craig Charters (Hawick), Lewis Carmichael (Melrose), Will Bordill (Ayr), Neil Irvine-Hess (Melrose), Grant Runciman (Melrose), Jack Turley (Heriot’s), Jason Hill (Heriot’s), Pete McCallum (Ayr). 


Fraser Thomson (Melrose), Sam Pecquer (Melrose), Jordan Edmunds (Boroughmuir), Haddon McPherson (Ayr), Ruaridh Smith (Currie), Liam Steele (Heriot’s), Ross Curle (Ayr), George Graham (Gala), Paddy Boyer (Glasgow Hawks), Lee Armstrong (Hawick), John Coutts (Hawick), Graham Wilson (Heriot’s), Brendan McGroarty (Glasgow Hawks).