Lyle joins Scotland squad for Cape Town 7s

Scotland 7s will face Dubai tournament winners Fiji, in the second leg of the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series, Capetown, this weekend (Saturday 12 – Sunday 13 December).

Scotland will play the current World Series holders in their first tie of the day (8.59am GMT), before taking on Argentina (12.42pm GMT) and Russia (3.41pm GMT), who they defeated with a last gasp try in the pool stages in Dubai.

Following a third place finish in Pool C in Dubai, Scotland entered the Bowl competition where they posted two victories against Portugal (21-14) and Wales (17-14) before falling to defeat at the hands of France (24-14) in the final.

There is one change to MacRae’s 12-man squad as Glasgow Warriors’ Fraser Lyle replaces Magnus Bradbury, who debuted for the national team 7s last week in Dubai.

Lyle debuted for Scotland 7s in Hong Kong last season, and marked the occasion with a try against New Zealand and Wales.

He has was part of the Glasgow Warriors side who successfully defended the Melrose 7s title in 2015, and will make his third appearance for the national team 7s in Cape Town this weekend.

Commenting on his call-up, Lyle said: “It’s great to be out here in Cape Town. I had a couple of weeks training with the sevens prior to them leaving for Dubai, so it’s been a comfortable transition back to the short game. 

“There’s a great buzz in the camp just now. The team picked up some great results in Dubai, but were disappointed not to make it out the group, so that’s the goal for this weekend.

“We’ve got a tough group with Fiji first up, but some of the guys involved in our squad have beaten them before, and there’s no reason we can’t do it again.”

Scotland 7s squad to compete in Cape Town 7s leg of the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series on Saturday 12 – Sunday 13 December:

Hugh Blake (Glasgow Warriors)
Jamie Farndale
 James Johnstone
 Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors)
 Gavin Lowe
Fraser Lyle (Glasgow Warriors)
Nick McLennan (Edinburgh Rugby)
Robbie Nairn (Harlequins)
Joseva Nayacavou
Scott Riddell
Mark Robertson
Scott Wight (CAPTAIN)