Internationalists return for Connacht clash

Head Coach Alan Solomons has named four changes to his starting side to take on Connacht tomorrow (kick-off 7.35pm) at BT Murrayfield – live on BBC 2 Scotland.

Rory Sutherland

Matt Scott, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne and Rory Sutherland return from international duty to be named in Solomons’ starting XV, while centre Chris Dean gains promotion from the bench to start in the centre.

Scott and Dean form the midfield partnership, with the back-three combination of Tom Brown, Damien Hoyland and Blair Kinghorn retaining their respective spots in the starting side. 

Phil Burleigh, who scored the opening try in last week’s 24-23 defeat of Scarlets, continues at stand-off and partners the incoming Hidalgo-Clyne at half-back.   

In the pack, Sutherland replaces the recently re-signed Allan Dell in the front-row alongside hooker Neil Cochrane and tighthead prop John Andress, while Anton Bresler and try-scorer against Scarlets, Ben Toolis, continue at lock.

Jamie Ritchie and Hamish Watson start at blindside and openside flanker, with Cornell Du Preez wearing the number eight shirt. 

Head Coach Alan Solomons said:

“Connacht are at the top of the Guinness PRO12 table and we are looking forward to the challenge that taking on the league leaders presents.”

Players not considered due to injury: Michael Allen (leg), Mike Coman (calf), Jack Cuthbert (knee), Grant Gilchrist (arm),Nasi Manu (neck), Fraser McKenzie (neck), Andries Strauss (knee and ankle) Jade Te Rure (knee) Grant Gilchrist (arm).

Absent on international duty: Alasdair Dickinson, Ross Ford, WP Nel, John Hardie, Stuart McInally. 

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Connacht 

Guinness PRO12, BT Murrayfield, kick-off 7.35pm – live on BBC 2 Scotland

15. Blair Kinghorn

14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Matt Scott
11. Tom Brown 

10. Phil Burleigh
  9.  Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

1. Rory Sutherland
 2. Neil Cochrane
 3. John Andress
 4. Anton Bresler
 5. Ben Toolis
 6. Jamie Ritchie
 7. Hamish Watson
 8. Cornell Du Preez


16. George Turner
17. Allan Dell
18. Simon Berghan
19. Alex Toolis
20. Magnus Bradbury
21. Sean Kennedy
22. Sam Beard
23. Dougie Fife