East v West age-grade teams announced for decisive inter-national

The East and West teams have been named for this Sunday’s decisive age-grade double header on the synthetic surface at Netherdale (kick-off 12.30pm and 2.15pm) – admission free.

The U16 and U18 sides shared the spoils at Scotstoun in the opening encounters, with East U16 and West U18 taking an aggregate advantage into this weekend’s games.

Tries from full-back Harry Paterson, wing Nathan Moffat, scrum-half Jamie Dobie and prop Dean Anderson (converted twice by stand-off Cameron Scott) contributed to the 24-point tally secured by East U16 that saw them battle back from 12-5 down to win in dramatic fashion.

Wing Colin Taylor crossed twice for West U16, with scrum-half Finn McIlwraith converting both, meaning East U16 take a 12-point lead into the aggregate decider in Galashiels this Sunday (kick-off 12.30pm).

The U18 encounter was not so close on the scoreboard, with West full-back Ben McIlwraith (2), centre James McCaig, and replacement back Jack McCready all crossing (twice converted by McIlwraith) with their line untroubled, leading to a comfortable 24-0 victory and healthy points’ advantage going into Sunday’s game.

The U16 and U18 trophies will be awarded after the matches in Galashiels.

Oriam will then host the one-off match at U20 level on Sunday 27 November (kick-off 3.30pm TBC) – the first competitive rugby match on the indoor synthetic surface.

All fixtures are free to attend however a limited number are available at Oriam. Tickets will be made available at Eventbrite next month.

East U16 v West U16 (kick-off 12.30pm)

WEST U16: 15 Finlay Callaghan (Jordanhill School / Glasgow Hawks); 14 Brandon Mills (Glenrothes / Glenwood HS), 13 Adam Scott (Lomond School / Helensburgh), 12 Rory Fraser (Madras Rugby), 11 Roy Jackson (Clydeview Academy / Greenock Wanderers); 10 Harry Mercer (St Leonards), 9 Sandy Greig (High School of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks), 1 George Breese (Glenalmond College), 2 Scott Clelland (Prestwick Academy / Ayr), 3 Jamie Drummond (Auchenleck Academy / Cumnock), 4 Luca Alessandri (King’s Park SS / Cartha Queens Park), 5 Gregor Brown (Robert Gordon’s College), 6 Rory Jackson (Park Mains School / Bishopton), 7 Liam Dreelan (Mackie), 8 Finlay Lennox (Robert Gordon’s College). Substitutes: 16 Greg Clunas (Howe of Fife), 17 Callum Brown (Gryffe High School / Bishopton), 18 Thomas Ryan (Robert Gordon’s College), 19 Jamie Cruikshank (Stirling County), 20 Matthew Fletcher (St Andrews & St Brides HS / East Kilbride), 21 Finn McIlwraith (Stirling County), 22 Joseph Strain (Castle Douglas High School / Stewartry), 23 Colin Taylor (Glasgow Academy / Glasgow Hawks).

East U16: 15 Nathan Moffat (Stewart’s Melville College); 14 Dean Anderson (Merchiston Castle School), 13 Ethan McVicker (Boroughmuir), 12 Matthew Currie (Merchiston Castle School), 11 Jamie Stephen (George Watson’s College); 10 Alex Harley (George Watson’s College); 9 Jamie Dobie (Merchiston Castle School), 1 Jake Fairley (Earlston HS / Melrose), 2 Michael Baird (Currie), 3 Dan Gamble (Merchiston Castle School / Kelso), 4 William Rowley (Loretto School), 5 Jonathon Roberts (George Watson’s College), 6 Addy Robertson (Stewart’s Melville College), 7 Eck Allan (North Berwick HS), 8 Ben Muncaster (Rugby School / North Berwick). Substitutes: 16 Finlay Campbell (Jedburgh GS), 17 James Hunter (Preston Lodge HS / Preston Lodge), 18 Struan Whittaker (BATs / Trinity Academy), 19 Aidan Harte (Stewart’s Melville College, 20 Scott King (Preston Lodge High School/Preston Lodge), 21 Fergus Johnston (Galashiels Academy / Gala), 22 Cameron Scott (Boroughmuir), 23 Callum Hunter (Currie).

East U18 v West U18 (kick-off 2.15pm)

WEST U18: 15 Ben McIlwraith (Dollar Academy), 14 Ryan Fairweather (Perthshire), 13 Andrew McLean (Stirling County), 12 James McCaig (Strathallan School), 11 Jacob Henry (Ross Sutherland); 10 Grant Hughes (Dollar Academy), 9 Jack McCready (Glasgow Academy); 1 Murphy Walker (Strathallan School), 2 Thomas Mullan (St Aloysius / West of Scotland), 3 Guy Kelly (Biggar High School / Biggar), 4 Adam Kerr (Williamwood High School / GHA), 5 Cameron Henderson (Strathallan School), 6 Jack McLean (Glasgow Academy), 7 Gavin Wilson (Wallace Hall Academy / Dumfries, 8 Sean Gaul (High School of Dundee). Substitutes: 16 Angus Fraser (High School of Dundee), 17 Andrew Nimmo (Biggar), 18 Dan York (St Aloysius / West of Scotland), 19 Callum Bell (Glasgow Academy), 20 Wallace Nelson (Stirling County), 21 Gus Warr (Dollar Academy), 22 Murray Godsman (Lomond School / Helensburgh), 23 Angus Vipond (Strathallan School / Stirling County).

EAST U18: 15 Jack Blain (Stewart’s Melville College); 14 Hamish Scanlan (Merchiston Castle), 13 Adam Hall (Melrose  /  Earlston High School), 12 Matt Davidson (Merchiston Castle School), 11 Jacob Lineen (Stewart’s Melville College); 10 Paul Cunningham (George Watson’s College / Haddington); 9 Roan Frostwick (North Berwick / North Berwick High School), 1 William Owen (Melrose / Earlston High School), 2 (Finlay Scott (Borders College / Jed Thistle), 3 Mak Wilson (Duns / Eyemouth High School), 4 Thomas Brown (Melrose / Borders College) 5 Jack Mann (Edinburgh Academy), 6 Robbie Irvine (Gala Wanderers / Galashiels Academy), 7 Rory Darge (North Berwick / North Berwick HS), 8 Callum Rowberry (Stewart’s Melville College). Substitutes: 16 Calum Renwick (Hawick / Hawick HS), 17 Thomas Jeffrey (Borders College / Peebles), 18 Robert Stott (Musselburgh GS / Musselburgh), 19 Kieran Watt (Merchiston Castle School), 20 Tyler Thomas (Merchiston Castle School), 21    Scott Clarke (Selkirk High School /  Selkirk), 22 Ross Thompson (Stewart’s Melville College), 23 David Grant-Suttie (Loretto School).

Sunday 23 October at 4G Pitch, Netherdale

East U16 v West U16 (kick-off 12.30pm)
East U18 v West U18 (kick-off 2.15pm)

Sunday 27 November at Oriam, Edinburgh

East U20 v West U20 (kick-off 3.30pm TBC)


West U16 (12-24) East U16
West U18 (24-0) East U18