Seven changes to starting side for Ospreys encounter

Edinburgh Rugby Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge has named seven changes to his starting side for tomorrow’s Guinness PRO12 round ten clash against Ospreys at the Liberty Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm) – live on BBC Wales.

Duncan Weir is named at stand-off

Of the changes made, four are across the back division with the alterations in the pack all made in the front-five.

Scrum-half Sam Hidalgo-Clyne makes his second PRO12 start of the season and is joined at half-back by Duncan Weir, who returns to the starting line-up for the first time since fracturing his jaw against Munster in round four of the competition.

Junior Rasolea replaces Phil Burleigh at inside-centre, while Will Helu is set to make his first appearance of the season on the wing after recovering from a long-term hamstring injury.

In the pack prop Allan Dell – who debuted for Scotland in the recent autumn Test series – and lock Grant Gilchrist return from international duty to start, while Stuart McInally is promoted from the bench to take the number two jersey.

Edinburgh Rugby Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge, said: “We were disappointed with the loss to Dragons but we’re on the road to Wales again and are looking to bounce back with a big performance against a good Ospreys side.

“We’ve moved on from last week’s result, taken lessons from the match and worked hard this week in training to right our wrongs, with the players showing a real focus and positive attitude to make amends to their game, both personally and as a collective.

“Several changes have been made in key positions but it’s credit to the depth of our squad that we’re able to rotate and field a team with such experience.

“Ospreys are a team who will be high on confidence due to their current form but there is a lot of belief in our side and we’re looking forward to challenging them on their home patch.”

Blair Kinghorn and Damien Hoyland retain their starting spots to join Helu in the back-three, while try-scorer against Dragons, Chris Dean, partners the incoming Rasolea in midfield.

Murray McCallum remains in the tighthead prop berth to pack down alongside McInally and Dell in the front-row, as Ben Toolis completes the lock duo with captain Gilchrist.

The back-row is unchanged with Magnus Bradbury and Jamie Ritchie named on the flanks, and Nasi Manu at number eight.

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Ospreys at the Liberty Stadium in the Guinness PRO12 tomorrow (Friday 2 December, kick-off 7.35pm) – live on BBC Wales 

15. Blair Kinghorn

14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Junior Rasolea
11. Will Helu

10. Duncan Weir
9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

1. Allan Dell
2. Stuart McInally
3. Murray McCallum
4. Ben Toolis
5. Grant Gilchrist CAPTAIN
6. Magnus Bradbury
7. Jamie Ritchie
8. Nasi Manu


16. Neil Cochrane
17. Kyle Whyte
18. Felipe Arregui
19. Lewis Carmichael
20. Viliame Mata
21. Nathan Fowles
22. Jason Tovey
23. Glenn Bryce

Players unavailable due to injury: Simon Berghan (foot), Anton Bresler (groin), Tom Brown (groin), Kevin Bryce (shoulder), Jack Cosgrove (knee), John Hardie (ankle), Fraser McKenzie (shoulder), WP Nel (neck), Rory Sutherland (groin)