Hodge names settled side to face Ulster

Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge has named one personnel change to the starting Edinburgh Rugby XV for tomorrow’s clash against Ulster at Kingspan Stadium (Friday 10 February, kick-off 7.35pm) – live on BBC ALBA.

Mata races in for a try against Ulster

Fijian back-row Viliame Mata is set to pack down on the blindside flank in his first Guinness PRO12 start since his side’s 28-17 victory over the Ulstermen in November.

Hodge, said: “We’ve named a settled side to head to Belfast, for what will be a tough encounter against a strong Ulster side.

“As a squad, we were frustrated with last week’s result against Munster, and know the last 20 minutes of the game let us down. The aim is to make amends and perform positively and consistently for the whole 80 minutes this week.

“Ulster is always a great fixture and we look forward to going over there and showing our intent from the first whistle."

Blair Kinghorn and Damien Hoyland both make their 13th consecutive start in the side, with Tom Brown taking up a spot on the wing to join them in the back-three.

Chris Dean and Phil Burleigh continue as the centre combination, while Sean Kennedy and Jason Tovey are named as the half-backs.

Neil Cochrane continues as captain and hooker, with Jack Cosgrove and Murray McCallum taking up the loosehead and tighthead prop berths respectively.

Ben Toolis continues at lock alongside Fraser McKenzie, who was recently voted as SCRUM Player of the Month for January. 

Magnus Bradbury moves from the blindside flank to number eight to accommodate for Mata, with John Hardie completing the back-row as openside flanker. 

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Ulster at the Kingspan Stadium in the Guinness PRO12 tomorrow (Friday 10 February, kick-off 7.35pm) – live on BBC ALBA

15. Blair Kinghorn

14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Phil Burleigh
11. Tom Brown

10. Jason Tovey
9. Sean Kennedy

1. Jack Cosgrove
2. Neil Cochrane CAPTAIN
3. Murray McCallum
4. Fraser McKenzie
5. Ben Toolis
6. Viliame Mata
7. John Hardie
8. Magnus Bradbury


16. Stuart McInally
17. Derrick Appiah
18. Nick Beavon
19. Lewis Carmichael
20. Viliami Fihaki
21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne
22. Michael Allen
23. Rory Scholes


Players unavailable due to injury: Kevin Bryce (shoulder), Alasdair Dickinson (foot), Will Helu (hand), Nasi Manu (shoulder), WP Nel (neck), Alex Northam (Achilles), Rory Sutherland (groin), Kyle Whyte (knee)