BT Cup Finals Day descends upon the home of Scottish Rugby

BT Cup Finals Day once again kicks-off at BT Murrayfield with the best of Scotland’s club talent lighting up the national stadium across a six-match extravaganza on Saturday 22 April.

A total of 12 finalist teams will go head-to-head for the end of season bragging rights with several Scotland internationals (Club XV and Scotland Women) in action throughout the day.

Melrose and Ayr will take centre stage on the international pitch in the BT Cup final after this season’s top two teams from the BT Premiership impressed throughout the rounds.

The final will be a repeat of last weekend’s BT Premiership final, where Ayr edged out league-leaders Melrose 12-8 in a tense affair at The Greenyards with the Millbrae men aiming to achieve this season’s double.

Ayr captain, Pete McCallum, said: “We are delighted to have already secured the BT Premiership trophy going into another head-to-head with Melrose in the Cup final.

The two sides are very evenly matched and it showed last Saturday in the league final, so we will be expecting much of the same at the national stadium.

“Ayr have developed their rugby across all areas over the seasons with much work put in at grassroots level to bring local and young players through.”

Melrose will be searching to avenge last season’s BT Cup final defeat to capital side, Heriot’s, while also looking to bounce back from their league title defeat against the west coast contingent.

Melrose club captain, Bruce Colvine, said: “We will be preparing just as we did for the league final and will hope that the result goes our way on Saturday.

To lose the league in the manner than we did, it will definitely spur us on for this week’s final and we’ll learn from our mistakes to make sure we perform well to round off our season.”

In the Sarah Beaney Cup final, Murrayfield Wanderers will take on BT Women’s Premier League rivals Hillhead / Jordanhill in a repeat of last year’s final where Wandies achieved Cup glory.

The two club sides have enjoyed a competitive season with Wandies claiming the league title earlier this year in a winner-takes-all final match, which saw the Edinburgh club run out narrow 18-12 winners.

Sarah Quick, Murrayfield Wanderers captain, said: “We’ve got a lot of experience in our squad with many Scotland Women internationals involved, particularly across our back-line.

The team have quality players across key positions who have performed well all season. We won’t be trying to do much different but will play to our strengths in what will be a competitive final with Hillhead.”

Louise McMillan, Hillhead / Jordanhill captain, said: “We have been developing throughout this season and our group of players are ready to challenge Wandies once again at BT Murrayfield.

We have so much experience across the squad and we believe that we have the ability to overcome strong opposition, it will be an exciting match between two rivals.”

The BT Shield final will see defending champions Carrick contest Murrayfield Wanderers and the BT Bowl final will feature Blairgowrie and Portobello.

The BT Women’s Plate final sees Stirling County battle it out with Stewartry for the title with Kirkaldy and Garioch going head-to-head for the BT Women’s Bowl.

The BT Cup and Sarah Beaney Cup finals will be streamed live on Scottish Rugby TV’s YouTube channel on the day.

Tickets cost £10 for adults and £5 for U18 and senior citizens with clubs receiving a commission for any tickets purchased which are associated with their club. 


BT Cup Finals Day, Saturday 22 April, BT Murrayfield 

International Pitch:

BT Men’s Bowl Final: Blairgowrie v Portobello (11am)

Sarah Beaney Cup: Murrayfield Wanderers v Hillhead / Jordanhill (1.15pm)

BT Cup Final: Melrose v Ayr (3.30pm)

BT Men’s Shield Final: Murrayfield Wanderers v Carrick (5.45pm)

Back Pitches:

BT Women’s Plate Final: Stirling County v Stewartry (11am)

BT Women’s Bowl Final: Kirkcaldy v Garioch (11am)