Cockerill names five changes for Falcons clash

Head Coach Richard Cockerill has made five changes to his starting line-up for tomorrow night’s pre-season fixture against Newcastle Falcons at the home of Melrose, The Greenyards (Friday 25 August, kick-off 6pm).

Rasolea starts at inside centre

Two of the amendments come in the back-three, where Blair Kinghorn and Dougie Fife start at full-back and wing respectively.

Junior Rasolea comes in to the starting side at centre, with Nathan Fowles set to don the number nine jersey.

Magnus Bradbury comes in to start at number eight, in the only change to the starting pack.

Cockerill said: “We learned a lot about ourselves in last week’s hit-out against Sale, and it was a good chance to get a feel for where we are as a group at the start of the season.

“As a group, we played with real intention and a lot of passion, and I was encouraged by the performances of some of our younger Academy players.

“We need to keep building, and this is a big chance to show that we’ve improved from last week. We need to keep developing as individuals and as a team, and showing people that we’re working hard to get better every day.

“Newcastle will prove as a further test of this team, but we need to see players front-up and show that they’re ready to compete both mentally and physically. We need to go into our first league game in the best position possible, and a lot of that boils down to how we perform tomorrow night.”

Tickets for the friendly match against Newcastle Falcons are available to purchase online here. Season Ticket Members can enjoy the match as part of their package – more information on Season Ticket Memberships can be found here.

Edinburgh team to play Newcastle Falcons at The Greenyards in a pre-season fixture tomorrow (Friday 25 August, kick-off 6pm) 

15. Blair Kinghorn

14. Darcy Graham
13. Chris Dean
12. Junior Rasolea
11. Dougie Fife

10. Duncan Weir
9. Nathan Fowles

1. Darryl Marfo
2. Stuart McInally
3. Simon Berghan
4. Anton Bresler
5. Grant Gilchrist
6. Jamie Ritchie
7. John Hardie
8. Magnus Bradbury


Neil Cochrane, Cammy Fenton, Ryan Grant, Ross Dunbar, Murray McCallum, Kevin Bryce, Fraser McKenzie, Callum Hunter-Hill, Cornell du Preez, Luke Crosbie, Ally Miller, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Jason Tovey, Jason Baggot, Tom Brown, Jason Harries, Glenn Bryce, James Johnstone, Jamie Farndale