Scotland Women U18 7s claim bronze in Rugby Europe Trophy

Scotland Women U18 made a flying start to their first ever Rugby Europe 7s Trophy, winning all of their pool matches and claiming bronze with a convincing win over hosts, Andorra.

The squad of 12 scored 20 tries and conceded only two on the opening day as they recorded comfortable wins over Ukraine, Georgia and Andorra to seal top spot in Pool B.

A hard-fought loss to Belgium in the semi-final was soon forgotten as they took on Andorra once more and ran out 33-0 winners to finish third overall.

Head Coach, Louise Dalgliesh, said: “We’re delighted to come away with third-place in our first ever Rugby Europe Trophy.

“The squad scored more tries than any of the other nations competing and were joint lowest in conceding just five scores over the two days.

“That is testament to the hard work all the girls have put in leading up to this tournament and the way they have played.

“We talked beforehand about using this competition as an opportunity for development and every team member can be incredibly proud of how they have represented Scottish rugby on and off the field.”

Anna Forsyth led the scoring with eight tries over the weekend, closely followed by Evie Gallacher, who crossed the whitewash on seven occasions.

Sula Callender and Emma Turner both scored hat-tricks over the course of the tournament while Erinn Foley, Melanie Grant, Kirsty Martin, Erin Sinclair also got on the board.

Charlotte Hope and Melanie Grant kept the scoreboard ticking over with the boot.

For a full breakdown of results and more information on the tournament, please visit the Rugby Europe website.

Scotland Women U18 7s squad that played in the Rugby Europe Tournament in Andorra:

Sula Callender (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Niamh Deans (Royal High Corstorphine)

Erinn Foley (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Anna Forsyth (Gala RFC)

Evie Gallagher (Stirling County RFC)

Melanie Grant (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Charlotte Hope (Murrayfield Wanderers & Edinburgh University Ladies RFC)

Elis Martin (Hillhead Jordanhill & Edinburgh University Ladies RFC)

Kirsty Martin (Stirling County)

Morven Rough (Watsonians FC)

Erin Sinclair (Stirling County RFC)

Emma Turner (Royal High Corstorphine)